The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Multiple change of possession - with foul (https://forum.officiating.com/football/104080-multiple-change-possession-foul.html)

MatthewPV Fri Oct 12, 2018 09:28am

Multiple change of possession - with foul
 
Team A on own 25 yard line. Team B intercepts the ball at B's 40. During the return, Team A commits a 15 yard personal foul (blind side block). B returns to A's 30, fumbles, and is recovered by A.

B's ball at A's 15 yard line (added 15 yards to the end of the run, fumble "ignored." Is this the correct enforcement?

Rich Fri Oct 12, 2018 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 1025275)
Team A on own 25 yard line. Team B intercepts the ball at B's 40. During the return, Team A commits a 15 yard personal foul (blind side block). B returns to A's 30, fumbles, and is recovered by A.



B's ball at A's 15 yard line (added 15 yards to the end of the run, fumble "ignored." Is this the correct enforcement?



The interception return is a running play. The foul is on the "defense". So all but one.

The foul is enforced from the beanbag - the fumble spot, which is the end of the related run. This could be the same spot as A's recovery or not - by rule the fumble isn't ignored - but A isn't getting the ball.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

jTheUmp Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:03am

What Rich said.

Team B got the ball with clean hands, so they can keep the ball no matter what happens during the play after they gained possession.

The fumble isn't "ignored"... it becomes the end of the related run, which is a penalty enforcement spot. Since the foul is by the team not in possession, the penalty is enforced from the end of the related run.

Robert Goodman Sat Oct 13, 2018 01:58pm

All A's recovery did was assure that team B would not accept the result of the play -- which they might've if B recovered and wound up in a better spot. But you'd better give them the choice, because if A's recovery left them in a bad enough spot, even though with a new series, a defensive-minded team might prefer that. So neither B's fumble nor the play following it can be ignored.

Rich Sat Oct 13, 2018 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 1025304)
All A's recovery did was assure that team B would not accept the result of the play -- which they might've if B recovered and wound up in a better spot. But you'd better give them the choice, because if A's recovery left them in a bad enough spot, even though with a new series, a defensive-minded team might prefer that. So neither B's fumble nor the play following it can be ignored.



B’s ball at A’s 15 after the penalty.

No good referee asks for options on this foul. The ones that do ask captains on everything. And that’s not good officiating.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1