The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Muffed punt - original LOS (https://forum.officiating.com/football/104071-muffed-punt-original-los.html)

airraider Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:16pm

Muffed punt - original LOS
 
Team A had a bad snap and penalty during their possession that has left them with a 3rd and 35 situation.

Team A decides to quick kick on 3rd down to attempt to catch team B off guard.

Upon punting, the ball is kicked short and does not make it back to the original LOS, but a member of Team B tried to field it and muffs the catch and a member of Team A team recovers.

Which is the correct ruling?

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 4th down.

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 1st down.

Middleman Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by airraider (Post 1025171)
Team A had a bad snap and penalty during their possession that has left them with a 3rd and 35 situation.

Team A decides to quick kick on 3rd down to attempt to catch team B off guard.

Upon punting, the ball is kicked short and does not make it back to the original LOS, but a member of Team B tried to field it and muffs the catch and a member of Team A team recovers.

Which is the correct ruling?

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 4th down.

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 1st down.

No change of possession, not touched by R beyond the neutral zone ...

4th down at the spot of recovery.

On second thought, my answer may be different depending on what you mean by "original LOS?" Did you mean the line of scrimmage established on 1st down?

ilyazhito Wed Oct 10, 2018 02:42pm

Yes, I would also say 4th down, because R did not touch the ball beyond the neutral zone, and K recovered with downs remaining.

airraider Wed Oct 10, 2018 09:57pm

The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.

CT1 Thu Oct 11, 2018 06:12am

Once R touches the kick beyond the expanded neutral zone, it will be a new series for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.

Middleman Thu Oct 11, 2018 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by airraider (Post 1025198)
The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.

With this information, my answer is:

1st and 10 for K at the 20-yard line.

Each scrimmage down has its own neutral zone established where the ball is at the ready-for-play. The "original LOS" as you call it, established on 1st down, has absolutely no bearing on any subsequent play.

BIG UMP Thu Oct 11, 2018 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by airraider (Post 1025198)
The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.


Original line of scrimmage doesn't matter. It is the present LOS or neutral zone that is used.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1