The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 10, 2018, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2018, 06:12am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Once R touches the kick beyond the expanded neutral zone, it will be a new series for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2018, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by airraider View Post
The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.
With this information, my answer is:

1st and 10 for K at the 20-yard line.

Each scrimmage down has its own neutral zone established where the ball is at the ready-for-play. The "original LOS" as you call it, established on 1st down, has absolutely no bearing on any subsequent play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2018, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by airraider View Post
The ball did cross the neutral zone, just did not cross the original line of scrimmage from 1st down.

On first and second downs 25 yards were lost due to snap over QB's head. Original line of scrimmage was the 30 with the line to gain being the 40.

On 3rd down it was 3rd and 25 from the 5. The ball was punted to around the 20 where a member of R attempted to field the punt, but muffed it. A member of K recovered the ball on or near the 20.

Does the neutral zone remain with the original line of scrimmage, even though the LOS is not 25 yard farther back?

I honestly do not know.

Original line of scrimmage doesn't matter. It is the present LOS or neutral zone that is used.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muffed Punt tankmjg24 Football 6 Sat Aug 31, 2013 06:35pm
Muffed Punt - TD? bossman72 Football 7 Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:27am
Muffed Punt on 3rd down gtwbam Football 3 Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:17am
MNF: Muffed punt tpaul Football 4 Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1