The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 10, 2018, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by airraider View Post
Team A had a bad snap and penalty during their possession that has left them with a 3rd and 35 situation.

Team A decides to quick kick on 3rd down to attempt to catch team B off guard.

Upon punting, the ball is kicked short and does not make it back to the original LOS, but a member of Team B tried to field it and muffs the catch and a member of Team A team recovers.

Which is the correct ruling?

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 4th down.

Team A's ball at the spot of the recovery 1st down.
No change of possession, not touched by R beyond the neutral zone ...

4th down at the spot of recovery.

On second thought, my answer may be different depending on what you mean by "original LOS?" Did you mean the line of scrimmage established on 1st down?

Last edited by Middleman; Wed Oct 10, 2018 at 03:19pm. Reason: Additional thoughts
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muffed Punt tankmjg24 Football 6 Sat Aug 31, 2013 06:35pm
Muffed Punt - TD? bossman72 Football 7 Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:27am
Muffed Punt on 3rd down gtwbam Football 3 Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:17am
MNF: Muffed punt tpaul Football 4 Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1