![]() |
|
|||
taunting penalty negates a TD
The situation happened in a game i was not at, but saw the film.
Team A's receiver is running toward the endzone on a long pass play. When the receiver with the ball gets near the 3 yard line he reaches the ball toward the endzone. He was several steps in front of the nearest B player. He then scores a TD. Trailing official throws a flag for taunting. The officials enforce the foul from the spot (the 3 yard line) and A has first and 10 from the 18 yard line. I am not complaining about the play or the enforcement of the penalty. I am just curious if that is the correct enforcement. Can someone tell me which rule covers this situation? Thanks |
|
|||
The TD stands. B can take the 15-yard penalty either on the try or the ensuing kickoff.
(That’s a rather curious interpretation of taunting BTW) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw out-of-bounds pass negates ineligible receiver? | ricknau | Football | 15 | Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:19am |
New penalty for taunting | just another ref | Basketball | 6 | Mon Apr 13, 2009 01:17pm |
violation negates shot | rcwilco | Basketball | 12 | Fri Dec 05, 2003 09:33pm |
Taunting | PeteBooth | Football | 3 | Thu Dec 20, 2001 05:16pm |