The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2018, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
This formation gets flagged on Sundays sometimes, I think because they have rules that certain numbers must be eligible unless they announce them as ineligible.
I think that's the part I'm unsure about. Should it be flagged?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2018, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
I think that's the part I'm unsure about. Should it be flagged?
So the reason it gets flagged is that the NFL requires that all of the players between the players on each end of the line be ineligible whether by number or after having reported as ineligible. So when this gets flagged it is usually because a player with an eligible number is “covered” by another player on the end of the line. The penalty is still considered an illegal formation, but it isn’t specifically for having 8 players on the line.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 08:29am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
NFL rule set can be totally different in some instances.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
If either the TE or WR shift to the backfield before the snap, is that legal, and does it make the TE eligible to go downfield?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If either the TE or WR shift to the backfield before the snap, is that legal, and does it make the TE eligible to go downfield?
Under the NFHS Rule Code, If "the lineman, next to the tackle, but inside the WR on the line (who is NOT A "TIGHT END"), legally shifts to become a "Back", and happens to be wearing an eligible pass reception number, he would be eligible to go wherever he wants prior to, or during a forward pass.

Accurately knowing who players on the field actually are, as defined in NFHS 2-32 can be really helpful in understanding what they are permitted to do.

Last edited by ajmc; Wed Sep 19, 2018 at 08:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Under the NFHS Rule Code, If "the lineman, next to the tackle, but inside the WR on the line (who is NOT A "TIGHT END"), legally shifts to become a "Back", and happens to be wearing an eligible pass reception number, he would be eligible to go wherever he wants prior to, or during a forward pass.

Accurately knowing who players on the field actually are, as defined in NFHS 2-32 can be really helpful in understanding what they are permitted to do.
What about NFL rules?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still run the end line? jeremy341a Basketball 10 Wed Oct 23, 2013 04:16pm
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Out of line? canadaump6 Baseball 13 Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:27pm
Free kick line behind the goal line starman Football 9 Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm
Was I out of line here? JoeT Basketball 12 Tue Jan 25, 2000 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1