The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 10, 2018, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: everything that happened on the play is legal PROVIDED THAT K3 had not crossed the neutral zone prior to passing the ball. If he had, both he and the ball would have been across the line, making any forward pass (from both behind and beyond) the neutral zone an illegal forward pass (See 7-3-2-e). While it is arguable that this isn't the intent of that rule, we have nothing else to go on. According to what I'm hearing the OP say, K3 never was beyond the NZ, so the pass would have been legal.

The scrimmage kick crossing the NZ breaks the continuity of downs (Rule 6), so any possession of the ball by Team A (after Team B touching) would mean they keep it. The incomplete forward pass only stands to put the ball at the previous spot for the next down.

Good luck explaining it to the Team B coach.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff jeremy24175 Football 11 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:31pm
NCAA: Illegal kick or muff? DJ_NV Football 4 Mon Sep 11, 2006 03:53pm
Muff Pt. 2 FredFan7 Football 8 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm
Muff Pt. 1 FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1