![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Recently I had a play where the offense threw an int. and the covering official blew his wistle after a series of two fouls by the offensive team (both personal fouls).
How would I administer the penalties? I gave the ball back to the offense and then penalized them 30 yards for the personal fouls. Is that correct? BTW I think the rule that giving the ball back to the offense when there is an interception AND an I.W. (post interception) really isn't fair.
__________________
Jason Savorn |
|
|||
The only way Team-A (the offense) would get the ball back would be for Team-B (the defense) to accept the penalties.
They intercepted the ball and were in possession before the IW. I can't speak for the team-B coach, but I doubt he would want to accept the penalty and give the ball back to Team-A. Secondly, if they did accept the penalty, they don't get to accept both for a 30 yard mark off. They would have to choose based on R's explanation. Hopefully he give the best option to choose. Of course that really would be to decline the fouls and keep the ball. |
|
|||
On an IW you go to the team in possession of the ball when the whistle was blown first. They have the choice as to take the result of the play or replay the down. If there were penalties then the replay option would be removed if the penalties were accepted. So B gets to keep the ball unless they fouled prior to change of possession.
|
|
|||
If the fouls and I.W. occurred after the interception, the intercepting team gets to keep the ball You would administer the penalties from the point where the ball was when the whistle blew. Personal Foul penalties are administered as if they were Dead ball fouls
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy" |
|
|||
Quote:
Accepting penalties for dead ball fouls does not have the same ramification as accepting penalties for live ball fouls in the case of an IW. Just a point, not a dissagreement. |
|
|||
Yea..here is what happend..
1. interception 2. the offense committed a personal fould 3. I.W. 4. the offense committed a second personal foul What happend on the field 1. defense retained the ball 2. both fouls where marched off from when where the ball was when the IW occurred.. from what I'm understanding is that 1. is correct, but only the fould AFTER the IW should have marched off? OR was this done correctly?
__________________
Jason Savorn |
|
|||
![]()
In your play, there was a change of possession, followed by a live ball foul by A, an inadvertent whistle, then finally a dead ball foul by A.
So its B's ball 1st and 10 after enforcing both penalties for the fouls by A. Yes, both fouls can be enforced because the foul by A after the IW is a dead ball foul. P.S. I hope that an official on your crew marked the the spot where B was when the IW occurred. That is the spot of enforcement for penalty administration (end of run for the live ball foul by B, and the succeeding spot for any dead ball fouls that occurred after the IW). [Edited by Mike Simonds on Oct 14th, 2003 at 04:47 PM]
__________________
Mike Simonds |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|