The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Center keep (https://forum.officiating.com/football/10379-center-keep.html)

Snake~eyes Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:44am

I totally understand your reasoning, I'm a programmer myself. C++, PHP, html, and java.. :)

BktBallRef Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
It seems to me that whenever the Fed uses A's and B's, etc. in a rule that those A's and B's mean "or".

Look at 7-1-3 (a-d).

Look at 7-1-7 (a-c).

Look at 7-2-5 (a & b).

If they changed it to an "and" for this one rule, it wouldn't be consistent with the rest of the rulebook.

Which means which of the following:

If it's legal for him to take the handoff under a) or b), then it's legal,

OR

if it's illegal for him to take the handoff under a) or b), then it's illegal?

Which is it? See the dilemna? :confused:

mikesears Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
It seems to me that whenever the Fed uses A's and B's, etc. in a rule that those A's and B's mean "or".

Look at 7-1-3 (a-d).

Look at 7-1-7 (a-c).

Look at 7-2-5 (a & b).

If they changed it to an "and" for this one rule, it wouldn't be consistent with the rest of the rulebook.

Which means which of the following:

If it's legal for him to take the handoff under a) or b), then it's legal,

OR

if it's illegal for him to take the handoff under a) or b), then it's illegal?

Which is it? See the dilemna? :confused:

Yep. I'm now confused too. I've always interpreted it to mean that the center COULD take handoff if he fulfilled the requirements of the 1/2 turn, etc. But now I'm now so sure.


AndrewMcCarthy Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:49am

It's got to be a OR b.

You couldn't be a lineman AND a back.

Bob M. Tue Oct 14, 2003 12:13pm

REPLY: My take on it...You can hand the ball forward (behind the NZ) to any back or an end -- provided the end is not the snapper or next to the snapper.

--- OR ---

You can hand the ball forward to <u>any</u> lineman provided he faced his goal line by moving both feet in a half-turn and is at least 1 yard behind his line when he receives the ball.

Snake~eyes Tue Oct 14, 2003 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
provided the end is not the snapper or next to the snapper.
Why can't you be the snapper or next to the snapper?

PSU213 Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
provided the end is not the snapper or next to the snapper.
Why can't you be the snapper or next to the snapper?

This is stated in 7-3-2b.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1