The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 09, 2003, 08:08am
Official Forum Member

Worked a JV game this past weekend. When I arrived at the game site, I learned that one of my partners (3 man crew) was a first year official working his 3rd game. I am in my third year and our WH had over ten years experience. I also discovered that one of our more experienced and respected WH was observing the game due to injury. Naturally, I asked to be evaluated as well. In reference to my performance, the only constructive criticism he mentioned was the fact that I threw a flag on the twelve yard line (going in) for an OS penalty on the Offense (the left side of the line was lined up in the NZ). The score was 18 - 12 at the time, 1:05 remaining in the 4th quarter. His comment, which was well taken, was that the call was a game interrupter. He suggested that I (or the WH) should have went into the O huddle after the play and commented about the infraction. He mentioned that the only one who probably noticed the infraction was the crew and it was not a safety issue. By the way, after moving them back five, the other wing flagged them for a hold moving them back further. Thank God, they went in to score with 40 seconds left and won 19 -18. Your thoughts on game interrupters.
Old Thu Oct 09, 2003, 08:45am
Official Forum Member

I understand the evaluators point in a blowout (especially in lower levels)...

But in a close game, CALL WHAT YOU SEE.

West Houston Mike
Old Thu Oct 09, 2003, 09:48am
Official Forum Member

I agree with both points, but unless the lineup gave him a major advantage, I would've just done some preventative officiating and warned him.
Old Thu Oct 09, 2003, 10:10am
Official Forum Member

What would you now do if the defense jumped into the NZ on the otherside of the formation?