The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Bib??? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/102913-bib.html)

bigjohn Sat Sep 09, 2017 07:40am

Bib???
 
Ok, just based on this picture, BIB?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/MZv74qTqOo1HLw9g2

JRutledge Sat Sep 09, 2017 08:36am

No, because I do not officiate one single moment in time. I see the entire play.

We have been down this road with you before.

Peace

Rich Sat Sep 09, 2017 01:37pm

If I had to guess, though, I'd say no.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

bigjohn Sat Sep 09, 2017 04:48pm

All officials use the Simplified and Illustrated book. If this were in the funny book would it say legal or illegal?

Rich Sat Sep 09, 2017 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 1009054)
All officials use the Simplified and Illustrated book. If this were in the funny book would it say legal or illegal?



We don't get that book where I live.

Who the hell knows? I can't tell from a still photo if the actual block is to the side or back.

Have a video?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

InsideTheStripe Sat Sep 09, 2017 05:09pm

Not IBB.

Rich Sat Sep 09, 2017 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by InsideTheStripe (Post 1009057)
Not IBB.



If forced to answer from a still picture, this is what I'd say too.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

JRutledge Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 1009054)
All officials use the Simplified and Illustrated book. If this were in the funny book would it say legal or illegal?

The S&I book does not use one picture to determine if you have a foul. They usually use several pictures and certainly, you will not find one that says "This is a block in the back."

So that is flawed logic. Also, all officials do not use that book. I know many that never have seen it.

Peace

CT1 Sun Sep 10, 2017 07:38am

From that picture -- from that picture-- legal block.

Hand Signals Mon Sep 11, 2017 01:17pm

A block in the back is defined as a block against an opponent when the initial contact is in the opponent's back, INSIDE THE SHOULDERS and below the helmet and above the waist...

If this is initial contact than it is a legal block.

HLin NC Mon Sep 11, 2017 05:11pm

In that moment in time, what would remotely make it a block in the back?

Rich Mon Sep 11, 2017 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 1009096)
In that moment in time, what would remotely make it a block in the back?



I swear some coaches think any contact not in the front is in the back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

InsideTheStripe Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1009097)
I swear some coaches think any contact not in the front is in the back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Unfortunately, so do many officials.

bigjohn Wed Sep 13, 2017 08:59am

That is my point ITS. Most people don't know what the rule says EVEN some officials.

HLin NC Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:09am

Argument could be made for IUH given the location of B2's left hand, depending on where it landed.

bigjohn Sun Sep 17, 2017 08:17am

The definition of a blindside block established by the committee is “a block against an opponent other than the runner, who does not see the blocker approaching,” and now results in a 15-yard penalty.

The committee stated that the blindside block “involves contact by a blocker against an opponent who, because of physical positioning and focus of concentration, is vulnerable to injury. Unless initiated with open hands, it is a foul for excessive and unnecessary contact when the block is forceful and outside of the free-blocking zone.

JRutledge Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 1009115)
That is my point ITS. Most people don't know what the rule says EVEN some officials.

OK, but the picture does not show anything. The picture shows one moment in time which is not how we make the call for the most part. So if your point is that the officials called a BIB as a result of this one picture, that is not really a very good judge. This is why I asked for several pictures that would show more of the play or the video. It is also a judgment call, which means they might have seen the first level of contact and made a decision.

I called a BIB this weekend after a player had clearly disengaged after first making contact and then pushed the player in the back right when the runner was in the area.

Peace

Gary V Wed Sep 20, 2017 01:54am

Bib
 
You can not call BIB from just one picture.
Have to see whole play as block could start in front and defensive player spin around and look like BIB and not be.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1