![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
That's interesting (no sarcasm intended). Our association puts the TE outside the zone unless the splits are narrow. I wonder how divided this actually is from state to state.
|
|
|||
|
Let's assume that each player's shoulders are 2 feet wide without any shoulder pads or anything on. (probably pretty close). Let's say 3 feet wide adding in shoulder pads and a bit of extra space. That's 1 yard.
So, if Center-Guard-Tackle-Tight End are lined up basically touching each other's shoulder pads, you've got 1/2 (center) + 1 (guard) + 1 (tackle) + 1 (TE) = 3 1/2 yards to the outside of the TE, so the TE would be in the zone. If we're talking "normal" splits, you're probably looking at closer to 1.5 (center) + 2 (Guard) + 2 (tackle) = 5.5 yards, meaning the TE is outside of the blocking zone. |
|
|||
|
Thanks for the information guys. I have had a couple of referees tell me that a TE could no longer block below the waist. I knew the dimensions of the free blocking zone and the change you pointed out about no clipping is the change I have forgotten. We run 2 foot splits and with our blocking scheme we rarely need our TE's to cut block but I had abandoned it all together based on what I was told. From what I am reading from you guys, this seems to be an interpretation rule based on alignment of the TE. We face an opponent this Friday night who pull their backside guard and tackle and cut block with the TE and they use about 2 foot splits. I will be talking to the white hat before the game to get his interpretation and how he is going to call it. Again thanks.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by VA Official; Tue Sep 05, 2017 at 01:37pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also if the shoeshining player is late, he might clip an opponent who's nearly past the neutral zone, or who's still in the neutral zone but turned away from the blocker. When someone dives into a sea of legs, it's got to be hard to tell whether he's hit any in the back. How do you rule if you think the blocker has hit the back of one leg and the front of the other leg of the same opponent? Is that in the "back" as used in the definition of clipping? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ESPN High school game Block Charge | Sharpshooternes | Basketball | 48 | Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:58am |
| Block/Player Control Ruling in High School BBall | Afrosheen | Basketball | 11 | Wed Nov 07, 2012 01:46pm |
| Blocking below the waist. | Agreen_14 | Football | 16 | Wed Aug 22, 2007 04:52pm |
| Blocking Below the Waist | NoCall | Football | 3 | Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:37am |
| men the block (high school) | auggiedog | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 11, 2000 10:44am |