The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt Blocked in End Zone (https://forum.officiating.com/football/102888-punt-blocked-end-zone.html)

ddb Tue Aug 29, 2017 09:01am

Punt Blocked in End Zone
 
4th down and 30 for team K from their 2 yard line. Punt formation with punter in the back of the end zone. Punt is blocked and the ball does not cross the goal line or the line of scrimmage but rather the ball is deflected straight up in the air where a player from team R muffs the blocked punt out the back of the end zone. What is the correct ruling? Is it a touch back or a safety. NFHS Rule reference and or case play with answer.

smileyh Tue Aug 29, 2017 09:19am

Safety. Force that put the ball in the end zone was the snap. Don't have books with me, but it's Rule 8.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

VA Official Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by smileyh (Post 1008901)
safety. Force that put the ball in the end zone was the snap. Don't have books with me, but it's rule 8.

Sent from my sch-i535 using tapatalk

8-5-1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1