The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Snap Infractions (https://forum.officiating.com/football/10254-snap-infractions.html)

Trenchman Tue Sep 30, 2003 09:37pm

First time poster here entreating your assistance. I'm the parent of a middle school center who is eager to learn all that he can about playing the position. At the risk of being too general, what constitutes a snap infraction by the center? Does the center have additional "latitude" with respect to movement of the free arm or body prior to the snap (relative to other linemen)? If so, to what to degree? Thanks any and all!

BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:08pm

The snapper is allowed to make an intial adjustment to the ball, for example, turning the laces a certain way.

After the initial adjustment, once he places a hand on the ball, the ball must not be released until the ball is snapped.

He's not allowed to make any movements that simulate action at the snap. This rule applies to all offensive players.

On the snap, the ball must move backwards and be released immediately by the snapper.

Trenchman Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:19pm

Thanks! I've observed centers at the collegiate level pulsing or moving the digits of their free or strike hand after being set. The movement would appear to serve no purpose other than to draw an eager noseguard offsides. The subtle motions were made while the hand was inside the thigh and likely obscured from the line judge's view. Is this legal?

SWFLguy Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:37pm

an Umpire with 34 years of experience here----
read the rules in the Federation rule book as it
pertains to the "snapper".
Basically, as long as he does nothing which
simulates the act of "snapping" no flags should fly !
If you watch all the centers in college and pros--
they all "break the rules" as concerns pushing the
ball forward a bit before snapping it back-
especially on long snaps for punts, etc.
A wise official will not flag that as long as
it does not actually simulate the snap itself !


Bob M. Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:31pm

REPLY: Also, in Federation rules, the snapper is allowed to rotate the ball (along the long axis) to his liking, but he cannot rotate it end-to-end.

keystoneref Wed Oct 01, 2003 06:07pm

One other thing as a former center. Once he places his hand or hands on the ball he may not remove both of them before the snap. His head may be in the neutral zone but may not be beyond the foremost point of the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1