Situation: Punter receives ball on a perfect snap. He punts the ball immediately. He is hit by someone on the receiving team while his kicking leg is still in the air. Punter is injured and down. No flag. What should the official have done?
He told the coaches he didn't think the punter got hit. What did he me he didn't think he got hit. Isn't that just his one and only job at the time, to watch the punter? How hard is that? Then he said. Don't worry about it you recovered the fumble on the punt. Why would recovering the fumble negate a penalty against the receiving team?
Isn't there a rule that protects the kicker? Isn't there a penalty to insure that?
|