![]() |
blocked field goal
High School rules.
Team A has 4th down near the goal line. Attempts a field goal, which is blocked and the ball ends up recovered by team A behind the line of scrimmage. Whose possession, team A or team B? |
I will assume the Team A player was downed where he recovered the ball. The ball belongs to Team A. However, Team A failed to reach the line to gain. Therefore, Team B will be awarded a new series at the spot of recovery, so they will be the next to snap.
If Team A had not been downed, then recovery behind the line of scrimmage remains a live ball that can be advanced. The continuity of downs is not broken, however, since Team B's touching is ignored since it occurred in or behind the expanded neutral zone. Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk |
Play continues the same as if the ball had not been kicked, in all respects but one: loose ball play enforcement of penalties for fouls that occurred before or while the ball was loose.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm. |