The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2000, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 85
Question

I was the linesman on this highschool JV game this evening:

A is winning 16 to 14 with 1:30 left in the game. A has the
ball 4th and 12 on A's 20. A(K) punts the ball (a very bad
high punt that goes about 5 yards beyond the nuetral zone).
R54 decides he wants to catch it out of the air on K's
25 (don't ask why). R54 muffs the punt so that it sends the
ball back behind the nuetral zone where K32 recovers on K's
16.

I aproached the referee and told him that kick crossed the
nuetral zone where it was muffed by R back behind the
nuetral zone where K recovered. I explained to him that I
thought K would then turn over the ball on downs. 1st and
10 R on K's 16 since it was my understanding that K would
only get a new set of downs if they recovered a muff by R
beyond the nuetral zone.

The Referee looked at me like I was crazy and flat out
told me I was wrong. He didn't buy it and gave K a 1st and 10 at their 16 where they promptly ran out the clock.

Well. If I couldn't sell it to my referee, how in the world
would I sell it to K's coach? Both coaches ended up being
satisfied with the ruling, but I'm a little unsettled,
because I think we got it wrong. (R had a good kicker who
could have won the game for them had they gotten the ball
that deep)

Let me know what you guys think ... thanks


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1