The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   K Catches Punt in Air (https://forum.officiating.com/football/101666-k-catches-punt-air.html)

rlarry Sun Sep 25, 2016 06:52am

K Catches Punt in Air
 
NFHS rules K catches punt in the air at the 4. No R player is in position to receive the kick. The player then jogged in end zone. I ruled the ball dead at the 4. opposing coach asked me why it wasn't a touchback. I told him that once K clearly had control the ball was dead. Was I wrong? Thanks for any help, going back to my books to find it.

scrounge Sun Sep 25, 2016 07:24am

The kick is over once there is K player possession, you were right. And if K could advance it....wouldn't it be a TD? :)

rlarry Sun Sep 25, 2016 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 991137)
the kick is over once there is player possession. Since k can't advance it, it's dead then and there, you were right. And if k could....wouldn't it be a td? :)

doh!!!!

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 25, 2016 08:15am

Sure the ball is dead, but isn't it also KCI by 6-5-6(a)?

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 25, 2016 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 991141)
Sure the ball is dead, but isn't it also KCI by 6-5-6(a)?

Never mind; I missed the Exception.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1