The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Clock status (https://forum.officiating.com/football/101665-clock-status.html)

yankeesfan Sat Sep 24, 2016 07:55pm

Clock status
 
4th down punt. We have an illegal formation and they want to re kick. When does the clock start? Clock was running on previous play.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rich Sat Sep 24, 2016 07:59pm

Snap. Legal kick play. The previous play doesn't matter.

yankeesfan Sat Sep 24, 2016 09:13pm

Please take a look at 3.4.2 situation D.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rich Sat Sep 24, 2016 09:26pm

Sorry. Misread the original play.

No new series. RFP.

Texas Aggie Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:17pm

Quote:

Snap. Legal kick play.
Also true for NCAA.

VA Official Thu Jul 13, 2017 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 991128)
Sorry. Misread the original play.

No new series. RFP.

Bringing up dead discussions, but I'm doing some preseason prep by reading through forum plays and questions. Just because there wasn't a new series awarded doesn't automatically mean we are on the RFP.

The clock status in this play, as on any other play, depends on how the down ended. If anything in 3-4-3 happened to cause the down to end, we're on the snap. For example in this play, if the returner goes out of bounds, there's a touchback, a fair catch is made, etc., it's on the snap. The only way we start on the RFP is if the returner is tackled inbounds, the ball becomes dead inbounds, or something else covered in 3-4-2.

3-4-3 (major clock stopper) always supersedes 3-4-2 (minor clock stopper), which means if you have a live-ball foul (minor clock stopper) as well as a ball out of bounds (major clock stopper), the ball out of bounds is what "stops the clock," not the foul. In the case play 3.4.2 Situation D mentioned above, it's only half correct. It doesn't specify whether or not the returner is tackled inbounds or out of bounds, and the rules book always supersedes the case book. The case play should say the returner is tackled inbounds in order for that ruling to be correct.

Timing situations can get hairy, but I always go through 3-4-3-a to j and if any of those things happened, you start on the snap. Otherwise, RFP. Obviously you can't do this in-game, but it can commit to memory pretty quickly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1