The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Weird Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/10146-weird-play.html)

tnroundballref Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:07am

On the way to games on Friday night, my white hat puts me in charge of coming up with "stumper" plays to get our minds in tune with what lies ahead. I came up with this one....we could never come up with a definitive ruling, tell me what you think.

A is offense
B is defense

A1 runs a pass route and while doing so, intentionally runs OOB and comes back into the field of play when A2 (QB) throws A1 a pass. B1 comes through A1 (obvious pass interference) and intercepts the ball , runs 5 yards and fumbles where A1 (receiver who ran OOB) recovers.

Several questions came up
1. Can a receiver who has run OOB and comes back in be interfered with?
2. Is it a penalty on A1 for participating in the play after he was OOB.
3. Can team A maintain posession after the recovery by A1?

mikesears Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:22am

Originally posted by tnroundballref
On the way to games on Friday night, my white hat puts me in charge of coming up with "stumper" plays to get our minds in tune with what lies ahead. I came up with this one....we could never come up with a definitive ruling, tell me what you think.

A is offense
B is defense

A1 runs a pass route and while doing so, intentionally runs OOB and comes back into the field of play when A2 (QB) throws A1 a pass. B1 comes through A1 (obvious pass interference) and intercepts the ball , runs 5 yards and fumbles where A1 (receiver who ran OOB) recovers.

Several questions came up
1. Can a receiver who has run OOB and comes back in be interfered with?


Yes. A player who is eligible to start the down remains eligible throughout the down. Its a fundamental.


2. Is it a penalty on A1 for participating in the play after he was OOB.


Yes. Illegal participation by A. It doesn't matter if he intentionally or accidentally went out of bounds.


3. Can team A maintain posession after the recovery by A1?


The results of the play is a double foul and the down MUST be replayed. Pass Interference by B and Illegal Participation by A.



cmathews Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:48am

I agree with MikeSears. Interesting thing to have included in a pregame...but remember be careful what ya wish for LOL how many times have we heard it here...we talk about a play and lo and behold someone has it happen to them the next week....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1