The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Sep 14, 2003, 06:15am
Official Forum Member

Question

I'm new to this refereeing thing, but I love football so I'm hooked. I'm refereeing 5th graders, using NFHS Rules. Let me apologize in advance if this Forum isn't intended for the lower levels, but I have a few questions I'd like to ask.

On the 2nd-half kick-off, K onside kicks and it becomes dead short of the receiving line, whereupon it's recovered by K (the fact that R didn't make a play on the ball is just short of miraculous since the ball died within a foot of the receiving line). After a short conference just to make sure that the ball hadn't reached the receiving line, I awarded the ball to R at the spot it was illegally touched by K. K's coach thought he should get a re-kick. I told him that "there's no re-kick unless the receiving team wants a re-kick" (with a 5 yard penalty against K from the previous kicking line).

My questions are:

1) Was I correct in awarding the ball to R at the spot of recovery? My fear is, I was relying on the kick-out-of-bounds rule instead of an actual basis on an illegal touch.

2) On an illegal touch, could R elect to have a re-kick? Are there other options as in a kick out-of-bounds?

3) Do I understand the following correctly?
On a kick-out-of-bounds, R gets three choices:
a) R's ball at the 35;
b) R's ball at the out-of-bounds spot;
c) K re-kicks after 5 yard penalty from kick line.

Thanks for your help. This Forum is great!

Eric

Old Sun Sep 14, 2003, 08:05am
Official Forum Member

The awarding of the ball at the spot of 1st touching was correct, however your terminology was incorrect.