The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 14, 2003, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 80
The awarding of the ball at the spot of 1st touching was correct, however your terminology was incorrect.

You awarded R the ball at the "spot of first touching" (bean bag, no flag). There was not a penalty on this play, therefore there can be no re kick, even if R wishes a re- kick. Remember once a free kick travels 10 yards and grounds it is a free ball, or is touched by R it is a free ball. The fact that K touched the grounded ball before it traveled 10 yards is not a penalty, it is the spot of first touching.

Now to your questions:

Question 1: You were correct in awarding the ball to R at the spot of 1st touching, again not illegal touching

Question 2: This is the spot of 1st touching, R cannot request a re-kick since there wasn't a penalty to give them a choice of options, (bean bag-no flag)

Question 3: The options for a free kick out of bounds untouched by R, are as follows:

a) R may take the ball 25 yards in advance of the previous spot (not necessarily at the 35 yard line)

b) R's ball at the inbounds spot

c) K rekicks after a 5 yd penalty from the previous spot.

I hope this helps, welcome to the ranks, have fun and enjoy.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1