![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Blandino: Refs incorrectly handled key end-zone call at end of Lions-Seahawks
|
|
|||
None of the officials had an angle that clearly showed it was an illegal bat.
Fun fact, the back judge in this game was (allegedly) the same guy who was originally slated to do the Fail Mary game before the lockout got in the way. |
|
|||
Really, he had a great look,, said it wasn't OVERT!!
![]() Seahawks' game-saving play against Lions shouldn't have counted - CBSSports.com Furthermore, Blandino denied that the official didn't know the rule. Instead, he claimed the official looking at the play didn't think it was "overt."
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Tue Oct 06, 2015 at 06:02am. |
|
|||
Quote:
The force was supplied by Team A's fumble, so it can't be a safety. The result of the play is a touchback. This is a running play as the fumble occurred beyond the neutral zone. Under ABO, enforce from the end of the run, the 1-yard line. It will be A's ball at the 1/2-yard line. Last edited by SC Official; Tue Oct 06, 2015 at 12:35pm. |
|
|||
SC Official, I too had to think a bit on this one and I agree with you.
Some commentary: Even though the defender slapped the ball out of the runners possession, by definition a new force cannot be added unless the ball has first been grounded. Therefore A, in this case, is responsible for putting the ball into (and therefore out of) the EZ so result of the play is a Touchback. Despite B batting it out of the EZ they did not force it into the EZ and so they kind of get a pass on "force" in this situation as force only applies to how the ball gets into the EZ and not how it comes out the other end... Then we go back to the bean bag where the run ended (where fumble occurred) and enforce the penalty against B and repeat the down (unless yardage is enough for first down). If anyone has a different ruling please chime in. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
49ers/Seahawks | AremRed | Football | 38 | Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:46pm |
Rams-Seahawks game | chseagle | Football | 1 | Sun Dec 29, 2013 08:34pm |
Strike Zone - How to call | bradrhod | Softball | 51 | Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:29am |
Cowboys vs. Seahawks | kdf5 | Football | 12 | Thu Dec 09, 2004 07:29pm |
Seahawks/Lions game | lblev | Football | 16 | Tue Nov 18, 2003 07:25pm |