![]() |
Blandino: Refs incorrectly handled key end-zone call at end of Lions-Seahawks
|
None of the officials had an angle that clearly showed it was an illegal bat.
Fun fact, the back judge in this game was (allegedly) the same guy who was originally slated to do the Fail Mary game before the lockout got in the way. |
Really, he had a great look,, said it wasn't OVERT!!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQmq-tgUAAAPn96.jpg Seahawks' game-saving play against Lions shouldn't have counted - CBSSports.com Furthermore, Blandino denied that the official didn't know the rule. Instead, he claimed the official looking at the play didn't think it was "overt." |
Blandino: Refs incorrectly handled key end-zone call at end of Lions-Seahawks
Let's face it -- only the officials knew the rule. Player could've easily controlled that ball in the end zone....HE didn't know it was illegal to bat it out.
BJ just missed it or judged it wasn't overt enough, which (IMO) was a mistake. Great position, though. |
If you watch they play from the above angle, the official rises up and reaches for what looks to be his flag then decides not to throw it.
|
Great situation for learning...Assuming an illegal bat here, how would you rule on this in NFHS? Penalty for illegal bat? Touchback? Safety? Whose ball and where...?
|
Quote:
The force was supplied by Team A's fumble, so it can't be a safety. The result of the play is a touchback. This is a running play as the fumble occurred beyond the neutral zone. Under ABO, enforce from the end of the run, the 1-yard line. It will be A's ball at the 1/2-yard line. |
SC Official, I too had to think a bit on this one and I agree with you.
Some commentary: Even though the defender slapped the ball out of the runners possession, by definition a new force cannot be added unless the ball has first been grounded. Therefore A, in this case, is responsible for putting the ball into (and therefore out of) the EZ so result of the play is a Touchback. Despite B batting it out of the EZ they did not force it into the EZ and so they kind of get a pass on "force" in this situation as force only applies to how the ball gets into the EZ and not how it comes out the other end... Then we go back to the bean bag where the run ended (where fumble occurred) and enforce the penalty against B and repeat the down (unless yardage is enough for first down). If anyone has a different ruling please chime in. |
Agree with your rulings in both FED and NCAA... I think I read somewhere that illegal batting includes an automatic first down in the NFL, but I'm not sure where I read it.
|
Absolutely amazing, the judgment whether the players contact with the ball was overt, intentional, deliberate or any other descriptive adjective rests entirely with the covering official (who by the way, was in perfect position to make a sound and reasonable judgment).
If ANYONE should understand that principle, it should be other football officials. |
Huh?
All I (and it looks like everyone else responding) are doing is discussing what the enforcement would have been if the covering official HAD ruled it an illegal bat. At the time, he obviously didn't think it was worthy of a foul. And if he initially reached for his flag and then decided not to throw on it... who among us hasn't been there before? Then his supervisor decides that the covering official's call was incorrect... again, who among us hasn't been there before? Sucks that it happened, but these things happen to all of us from time to time... if it hasn't happened to you yet, you haven't been officiating long enough. |
All I know is it looks incredibly overt and on purpose.
|
Quote:
If this was called we would have had an entirely different discussion. Then the media would have talked about how bad the rule was and how the Seahawks got screwed. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm. |