The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Center Eligible (https://forum.officiating.com/football/100161-center-eligible.html)

patriots87 Fri Oct 02, 2015 04:15pm

Center Eligible
 
Playing 8-man Flag, is the following formation legal and is the center able to be considered eligible? We don't have eligible/ineligible numbers.

()
OXXX O
OO
O

Here we want the O's to be eligible receivers and X's are line and ineligible.

Also, a NFHS reference would be appreciated if you can, thanks!

BoomerSooner Fri Oct 02, 2015 04:45pm

Any player on the end of the line is eligible. Same applies to 9, 8 and 6 player football. Only difference between 11 player and the others is that there aren't numbering restrictions. You'll find the rule in the 8 player rule differences section (Rule 7c).

HLin NC Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:12pm

Does flag play NFHS rules?

w_sohl Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by patriots87 (Post 967487)
Playing 8-man Flag, is the following formation legal and is the center able to be considered eligible? We don't have eligible/ineligible numbers.

()
OXXX O
OO
O

Here we want the O's to be eligible receivers and X's are line and ineligible.

Also, a NFHS reference would be appreciated if you can, thanks!

The "center" is never eligible as he is always the middle of the line and is covered up every play. Having said that, I assume you mean to ask if the "snapper" can be eligible. Under 11-man NFHS rules, as long as he is on the end of the line and isn't ineligible by number, he is eligible.

Robert Goodman Sun Oct 04, 2015 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner (Post 967492)
Any player on the end of the line is eligible. Same applies to 9, 8 and 6 player football.

Yes, but an understatement as applied to 6s, where all players are eligible to receive a forward pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1