![]() |
Hit behind the LOS
Can a defender hit an eligible receiver if the ball is in the air and the receiver is behind the LOS ?
|
NFHS: See Rule 7-5-7 for your answer.
|
i got you on 7.5.7 but 7.5.8b seems to contradict
|
I think "only apply" supersedes "begin".
This is one of those rules where separately written provisions would've been more clearly expressed in a single (albeit long) appropriately punctuated sentence. |
Quote:
(a) B1 blocks A2 behind the line prior to A2 touching the ball; or (b) B1 tackles A2 prior to A2 touching the pass; or (c) B1 pushes A3 prior to A3 touching the pass, and B1 intercepts. RULING: Legal block in (a) since interference restrictions for B do not apply to a forward pass that does not cross the neutral zone. In (b), it is a holding foul by B1. Legal contact in (c) since there are no pass interference restrictions on an illegal forward pass. It should be noted that A2 has also committed a foul for an illegal forward pass. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am. |