![]() |
Low Block and 2 point stance in shotgun
https://www.nfhs.org/media/1015055/2...f-emphasis.pdf
This years Point of Emphasis says it is illegal unless the player is superhuman. It is nearly impossible for a lineman in a two-point stance to legally block below the waist in this situation because of the time required for the lineman to drop from an upright position and block an opponent below the waist. Prior to the snap, game officials should be aware of whether the ball will be snapped hand-to-hand or to a back in shotgun formation, player positioning and alignment, and which players may legally block below the waist. How many state associations have said to call it BBW this year? |
Quote:
|
NC actually made this a no-no several seasons ago.
|
what state, Rich?
|
We still allow an immediate block low on any lineman that is doing the blocking. Never been told to change that stance. Any delay, then we have a different issue, whether it be shotgun or hand to hand snap.
Peace |
Arizona.....BBW!
|
We also allow BBW on the initial charge as long as it is immediately after the snap.
However, from a practical standpoint, I've seen less & less of this over the past several years. The main purpose of a two-point stance is to enhance pass blocking. |
but on quick game passing you want their hands down and there is no better way to do that than hit them low. it is very easy to fire out low from a 2 point if the kid has good low stance and steps and drops all in one motion, it is silly to say that is nearly impossible. They should not have to tip off the defense by putting their hand on the ground.
|
Quote:
They're being overly wordy in their examples. Only Q3 needs to be answered to determine the outcome. |
Anyone have a 2015 casebook? What does 2.17.2 situation e say?
|
2.17.2 SITUATION E:
A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1, (a) A2 immediately drops and blocks B1 below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but then dives and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line of scrimmage at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the free-blocking zone. RULING: It is a legal block in (a) and an illegal block below the waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made immediately following the snap. Any later, and the ball is considered to have left the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
So the POE and the Case Book don't really agree. That is really bad but not surprising.
It is nearly impossible for a lineman in a two-point stance to legally block below the waist in this situation because of the time required for the lineman to drop from an upright position and block an opponent below the waist. |
Low Block and 2 point stance in shotgun
Nearly impossible is a horrible phrase. Either ban it outright or don't.
I paid the $35 to be an NFHS member recently -- worth it for all the digital rule and case books. |
The NF could easily outlaw a certain kind of block by just saying what should not be allowed. Giving a casebook interpretation and telling us what is unlikely is silly.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Store it on Kindle Cloud Reader and you can use any platform.
|
|
According the current website, versions are still available on iTunes. I may bite. The iPhone 6 with large font has been good to me. :o
http://www.nfhs.org/articles/rules-b...le-as-e-books/ |
The directive in GA is that in the shotgun blocking below the waist from a 2-point stance is illegal. Been this way for the past few years.
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am. |