The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 08, 2015, 02:12pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It isn't an interpretation...it is explicitly stated in black and white in the rule book.
If is so explicitly spelled out why do you have to use words like "basically" and "translation" to spell out your reading of the rule? Explicitly means it is spelled out in black and white and you can point directly to it.

The prescribed limits are as follows:

A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
Not violated by this situation

A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
Doesn't apply to this situation

After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:

a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a *dribble.
Not violated by this situation

After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:

a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Not violated by this situation

A player holding the ball:

a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.

b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
Applies to this situation. "Attempt to get up or stand" is explicitly" spelled out as going from one knee to a standing position in the case book. Anything else is INTERPRETATION.

4.44.5D could easily have been written as "one or both knees", but instead they specifically said "one knee".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jul 08, 2015 at 02:16pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BYU Utah state breakaway foul followed by scrum vid request Sharpshooternes Basketball 7 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:26am
Injury During Rebound Scrum Adam Basketball 19 Fri Jan 31, 2014 01:56pm
NCAA mechanics for a first down gained inbounds jbduke Football 3 Wed Oct 05, 2011 09:31am
when is possession gained wedickinson Football 8 Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:32pm
How to call the "rugby scrum" in the paint... Sleeper Basketball 14 Tue Dec 10, 2002 04:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1