The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Scrum in lane, control gained with two knees on the ground... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99908-scrum-lane-control-gained-two-knees-ground.html)

Camron Rust Wed Jul 08, 2015 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 964653)
If is so explicitly spelled out why do you have to use words like "basically" and "translation" to spell out your reading of the rule? Explicitly means it is spelled out in black and white and you can point directly to it.

I used those words to try to explain it to those who don't want to see it.

It says the allowed foot movements are listed and anything other foot movement is a travel.

Do you see anywhere that where it says a player can move from two knees to one foot?

No. Therefore, it is a travel.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2015 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 964657)
I used those words to try to explain it to those who don't want to see it.

It says the allowed foot movements are listed and anything other foot movement is a travel.

Do you see anywhere that where it says a player can move from two knees to one foot?

No. Therefore, it is a travel.

None of the limits of foot movements prescribed in 4-44-1/2/3/4 are violated. 4-44-5 only states what a player may not do. 4-44-5b applies to this situation. Other than going from one knee to 2 feet, "Attempt to get up" is open to interpretation.

TimTaylor Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 964668)
None of the limits of foot movements prescribed in 4-44-1/2/3/4 are violated. 4-44-5 only states what a player may not do. 4-44-5b applies to this situation. Other than going from one knee to 2 feet, "Attempt to get up" is open to interpretation.

But the only interpretation that matters is that of the official.

"In my judgement s/he was attempting to get up."

I agree with Cam......

Camron Rust Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 964668)
None of the limits of foot movements prescribed in 4-44-1/2/3/4 are violated. 4-44-5 only states what a player may not do. 4-44-5b applies to this situation. Other than going from one knee to 2 feet, "Attempt to get up" is open to interpretation.

The travel rule is unlike most other rules. Instead of listing what is illegal (making unlisted items legal) it lists all the legal options for foot movement. Any foot movement not listed is illegal. And it doesn't qualify it by the starting position.

Show me where it says they can move to one foot. If you can't, it is, by rule, illegal.

Art 5b is there to say that it is legal to be on the floor when they obtain possession otherwise, Art. 5a would make it a violation to even grab the ball while on the floor. It does say they can not get up.

Regardless of how you interpret "Get Up", the restrictions on what foot movements are legal from the rest of the rule don't go away. If the player puts a foot on the floor on any way other than what is listed in Art 1-4, they have done so in a way that is not listed making it a travel.

Raymond Thu Jul 09, 2015 05:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 964672)
But the only interpretation that matters is that of the official.

"In my judgement s/he was attempting to get up."

I agree with Cam......

I have no problem with that. My point is that it is an interpretation, not an explicitly written rule.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1