The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump Ball - Technical Foul - Restart? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99840-jump-ball-technical-foul-restart.html)

luvhoops Tue Jun 02, 2015 09:35am

Jump Ball - Technical Foul - Restart?
 
A/P arrow favors Team A. A1 and B4 tie up the ball, official C blows her whistle, and a held ball is called. A2 bumps official C resulting in A2 getting a technical foul.

NFHS: Who shoots and what is restart?

NCAA Mens: Who shoots and what is restart?

jTheUmp Tue Jun 02, 2015 09:43am

FED: 2 free throws (by any eligible players and/or substitutes) and throw-in at division line for Team B. Arrow does not change.

NCAAM: 2 free throws for Team B. (I think) game resumes at POI, which is alternating possession throw-in.

In either case, if the T is for bumping an official, A2 is probably going to be ejected.

APG Tue Jun 02, 2015 09:58am

NCAA-M: Flagrant 2 Technical Foul which results in two shots and the ball at the division line (either side) to the team shooting the free throws . Any player or eligible team member may shoot the FT's (and must shoot both FT's).

Raymond Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 963195)
...

NCAAM: 2 free throws for Team B. (I think) game resumes at POI, which is alternating possession throw-in.

In either case, if the T is for bumping an official, A2 is probably going to be ejected.

If you are ejecting the player, then you are calling a Flagrant Technical which does not go to POI.

bob jenkins Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 963200)
If you are ejecting the player, then you are calling a Flagrant Technical which does not go to POI.

Same in NCAAW (just to complete the loop)

jTheUmp Tue Jun 02, 2015 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 963200)
If you are ejecting the player, then you are calling a Flagrant Technical which does not go to POI.

Good to know. I probably should've just kept my mouth shut on the NCAAM ruling, since I don't work NCAAM and haven't studied their rules. :)

JetMetFan Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:11am

The basics for NCAA: If the penalty for one of the fouls has possession attached the offended team will end up with the ensuing throw-in. The only time that wouldn't happen - potentially - is if each team commits one of said fouls.

For NCAAW - since that's the code I know :) - that would be any F1, any F2, contact dead-ball Ts and the granting of an excessive TO.

BryanV21 Wed Jun 03, 2015 09:58am

Remember that the AP arrow does not change until the AP throw-in is completed. Since there is no AP throw-in in this case, the arrow is not touched.

OKREF Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 963194)
A/P arrow favors Team A. A1 and B4 tie up the ball, official C blows her whistle, and a held ball is called. A2 bumps official C resulting in A2 getting a technical foul.

NFHS: Who shoots and what is restart?

NCAA Mens: Who shoots and what is restart?

NFHS, team B shoots 2 free throws and takes ball out at half court. Arrow stays.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1