The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T or no T - that is the question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99836-t-no-t-question.html)

Hugh Refner Sun May 31, 2015 11:00pm

T or no T - that is the question
 
NF rules. We know that if a team requests a TO when they are out of TOs, it's a T. What if they make the request during a time in the game in which they could not be granted a TO if they still had any? Is it still a T?

constable Sun May 31, 2015 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 963098)
NF rules. We know that if a team requests a TO when they are out of TOs, it's a T. What if they make the request during a time in the game in which they could not be granted a TO if they still had any? Is it still a T?

Can you legally grant the TO? If not, I don't see how you can whack them for it.

BillyMac Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:03am

Taken For Granted ...
 
Entitled to, or not, once the official grants the time out, even if it's erroneously granted, it's granted, and cannot be revoked, thus the technical foul is charged.

BillyMac Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:05am

Requested ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 963098)
We know that if a team requests a TO when they are out of TOs, it's a T.

No. We don't know that. If a timeout is requested, and granted, to a team when they are out of timeouts, it's a technical foul.

JetMetFan Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:13am

5.8.3 SITUATION E:

A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.

RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)

deecee Mon Jun 01, 2015 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 963098)
NF rules. We know that if a team requests a TO when they are out of TOs, it's a T. What if they make the request during a time in the game in which they could not be granted a TO if they still had any? Is it still a T?

Why would it matter? If the TO is granted it is immaterial if at the moment of the request they were "allowed" to. Team A has the ball and Team B coach request a TO and is erroneously awarded the TO. This happens on occasion and doesn't negate the T.

Adam Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 963098)
NF rules. We know that if a team requests a TO when they are out of TOs, it's a T. What if they make the request during a time in the game in which they could not be granted a TO if they still had any? Is it still a T?

Not true. Requesting a TO does not result in a technical foul. Only if the TO is granted does the T get called. So, if a team requests a TO when it should not be granted, you should neither grant the TO nor call the T.

If, however, you mistakenly blow your whistle to grant the TO, then you must grant the TO and enforce the T.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1