The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spurs vs Clippers Game 2 (Videos 2/2) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99697-spurs-vs-clippers-game-2-videos-2-2-a.html)

kstiles99 Wed Apr 22, 2015 09:51pm

Spurs vs Clippers Game 2 (Videos 2/2)
 
Could I see the backcourt violation that happened around 9:25 1st Quarter in game 2 Spurs at clippers. Ron Garretson originally signaled a tipped ball but then joe Crawford stepped in and started a discussion. Backcourt violation was the final ruling. Could you post it for review please.. Thanks so much in advance.

bballref3966 Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:49pm

Also of note is the technical foul on Doc Rivers at 9:55 in the second quarter. Crawford whacked him in the middle of a Spurs fastbreak.

AremRed Thu Apr 23, 2015 01:02am

Here's the tech: http://streamable.com/tyfs

Rich Thu Apr 23, 2015 06:55am

Announcer has a strange definition of a fast break.

BryanV21 Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 961186)
Announcer has a strange definition of a fast break.

Yeah, I wouldn't call that a "fast break" either.

AremRed Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:38pm

It's semi-transition and the Spurs did have an open shot in the corner so I could see why Pop was upset. Nothing you can really do though except call it earlier or later. Joey was on point after this tech though, he called a great game.

Pop got whacked later by Ron Garretson for waving off Joey.

Rich Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:40pm

Semi-transition. What made up words or phrases can I use here?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

AremRed Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 961207)
Semi-transition. What made up words or phrases can I use here?

Aren't all words made-up? :D

APG Thu Apr 23, 2015 02:17pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAYqXT0gb2o

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/xAYqXT0gb2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIuw5SlDKVA

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/dIuw5SlDKVA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Thu Apr 23, 2015 02:48pm

I'll see Joey in camp this summer, if I remember I'll ask him about the timing of the T.

MD Longhorn Thu Apr 23, 2015 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 961204)
Yeah, I wouldn't call that a "fast break" either.

Of course it was... the ever popular 3 on 5 break...

MD Longhorn Thu Apr 23, 2015 03:36pm

The BC call --- it WAS tipped... and then it was tapped by the offense. Good fix.

APG Thu Apr 23, 2015 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 961215)
The BC call --- it WAS tipped... and then it was tapped by the offense. Good fix.

The defense tipped the ball first. This ends team control under NBA rules...the subsequent tip by the offense means nothing.

just another ref Thu Apr 23, 2015 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 961219)
The defense tipped the ball first. This ends team control under NBA rules...the subsequent tip by the offense means nothing.

Reggie Miller said the call was correct because it was a "controlled tap" by the offense. Is this correct for the NBA?

APG Thu Apr 23, 2015 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 961221)
Reggie Miller said the call was correct because it was a "controlled tap" by the offense. Is this correct for the NBA?

No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.

just another ref Thu Apr 23, 2015 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 961222)
No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.

So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?

APG Thu Apr 23, 2015 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 961223)
So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?

The trail didn't see the deflection by Duncan...he didn't call a backcourt violation because he thought Danny Green (black 14) hit the ball (he signaled as much and was pointing at him). So the slot was correct in giving him information that the defense (at that point) did not touch the ball.

If the trail had seen the deflection by Duncan, he would have either signal a tip earlier...or after the slot comes in to tell him his information, he tells says he had a defensive deflection prior...making everything else moot...resume at POI.

Raymond Thu Apr 23, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 961223)
So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?

If they had called the travel on Deandre Jordan, all of this would be moot. :D

just another ref Thu Apr 23, 2015 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 961225)
If they had called the travel on Deandre Jordan, all of this would be moot. :D

Yeah, moot. Historic, but moot.

Camron Rust Thu Apr 23, 2015 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 961222)
No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.

When does it cease to be a bat and become a brief catch and throw? Perhpas he considered the offensive player's actions to be controlled and a pass rather than a bat.

Nevadaref Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:37am

G5 FT question
 
Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.

AremRed Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961465)
Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.

Yeah, they don't call that. It's trifling.

JetMetFan Wed Apr 29, 2015 06:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961465)
Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.

NBA Rule 9-I-d (edited):

Players not occupying lane spaces must remain on the court behind the three point line above the free throw line extended and may not be touching the line or floor inside the line when the ball is released

Nevadaref Wed Apr 29, 2015 06:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 961472)
NBA Rule 9-I-d (edited):

Players not occupying lane spaces must remain on the court behind the three point line above the free throw line extended and may not be touching the line or floor inside the line when the ball is released

Thought so. The rule is the same as NFHS, except that the player has the opportunity to move back out to avoid violating.

Sad that Scott Foster ignored this as it was right in front of him.

Raymond Wed Apr 29, 2015 07:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961473)
Thought so. The rule is the same as NFHS, except that the player has the opportunity to move back out to avoid violating.

Sad that Scott Foster ignored this as it was right in front of him.

Was he still there during the 2nd free throw?

Nevadaref Wed Apr 29, 2015 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 961475)
Was he still there during the 2nd free throw?

No. 1st was missed, 2nd was made.

Raymond Thu Apr 30, 2015 07:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961473)
Thought so. The rule is the same as NFHS, except that the player has the opportunity to move back out to avoid violating.

Sad that Scott Foster ignored this as it was right in front of him.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 961475)
Was he still there during the 2nd free throw?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961508)
No. 1st was missed, 2nd was made.

Well, he didn't ignore it then. The player was gone by the 2nd free throw.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 30, 2015 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 961519)
Well, he didn't ignore it then. The player was gone by the 2nd free throw.

I don't understand your post. Are you telling me that the players may be anywhere they wish during the first FT under NBA rules as long as they are correctly positioned for the second?

I don't understand why a replacement FT was not awarded for the first FT after it was unsuccessful while a defender was standing inside the 3pt line.

APG Thu Apr 30, 2015 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961555)
I don't understand your post. Are you telling me that the players may be anywhere they wish during the first FT under NBA rules as long as they are correctly positioned for the second?

I don't understand why a replacement FT was not awarded for the first FT after it was unsuccessful while a defender was standing inside the 3pt line.

Under NBA rules, during a free throw that will not remain in play, there is no violation for being in the lane early/entering from the outside early/players lined up incorrect/lined up when they shouldn't be. The only violation that could occur from these actions would have to be disconcerting action.

AremRed Thu Apr 30, 2015 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961555)
I don't understand your post. Are you telling me that the players may be anywhere they wish during the first FT under NBA rules as long as they are correctly positioned for the second?

I don't understand why a replacement FT was not awarded for the first FT after it was unsuccessful while a defender was standing inside the 3pt line.

What is the purpose of the rule?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1