The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA BI Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99569-ncaa-bi-question.html)

bballref3966 Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:18pm

NCAA BI Question
 
Simple question that I think I know the answer to...

The ball is on Team A's ring when B1 jumps up and intentionally slaps the backboard causing it to vibrate. This is both basket interference and a technical foul under NCAA rules. Both infractions are penalized, correct? Score the points for the BI violation and then Team A shoots two for the T, resuming play with a Team B throw-in anywhere along the endline?

Raymond Sat Mar 21, 2015 11:52pm

Correct, and it would be a Class B technical to the offending player.

AremRed Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 958734)
Simple question that I think I know the answer to...

The ball is on Team A's ring when B1 jumps up and intentionally slaps the backboard causing it to vibrate. This is both basket interference and a technical foul under NCAA rules. Both infractions are penalized, correct? Score the points for the BI violation and then Team A shoots two for the T, resuming play with a Team B throw-in anywhere along the endline?

Yes, but I wouldn't necessarily call both in this situation. I would save the slapping the backboard for showing up an official or during a dead ball or something. Just call the BI and move on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1