The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Michigan State vs Wisconsin Lead Rotation Mechanics (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99517-michigan-state-vs-wisconsin-lead-rotation-mechanics-video.html)

crosscountry55 Sun Mar 15, 2015 03:55pm

Michigan State vs Wisconsin Lead Rotation Mechanics (Video)
 
MSU vs. WI, Big Ten Championship, 15:40 2nd Half, CBS, 3/15/15.

Crew no calls a travel under the basket on G10. I'm not so critical of the miss as I am of the L's rotation mechanic. This is exactly why you're supposed to stay connected to your original primary while you transition. Instead, L is watching the matchup with the ball and by the time he turns around to look in the paint, he's busy trying to ID the defender and doesn't have time to watch what the ball handler does with his feet.

T smoothly moved into the slot and it looked like he got a good look. I wonder why he passed on the call.

APG Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:17pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/YmJxuhiYgLs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Rich Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:24pm

A very wise college official once told me how overrated he thinks that mindset is over a beer one night. If you are rotating, it's because you have something you want to see over there.

The new C should've gotten the travel. He had a wide open look.

Kelvin green Wed Mar 18, 2015 01:38am

From my perspective nothing wrong with the rotation... Sometimes you miss travels when you are refereeing the defense...

APG Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 957993)
A very wise college official once told me how overrated he thinks that mindset is over a beer one night. If you are rotating, it's because you have something you want to see over there.

The new C should've gotten the travel. He had a wide open look.

If there's a competitive match up over there (for instance, two players in the post), then go ahead and officiate that match up. If there's nothing pending...then looking back into the paint while walking over, and officiate there.

Either way, your old trail should be closing down...and when the lead initiates a rotation, the trail should be officiating where he lead can't...often meaning he should be looking at/near the weakside block.

AremRed Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:29am

I don't see a travel.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 18, 2015 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 957993)
A very wise college official once told me how overrated he thinks that mindset is over a beer one night. If you are rotating, it's because you have something you want to see over there.

The new C should've gotten the travel. He had a wide open look.

I think the rotation was complete anyway -- even if L had been looking "back" he would have switched to the ball / passer before the travel

Blindolbat Wed Mar 18, 2015 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 957993)
A very wise college official once told me how overrated he thinks that mindset is over a beer one night. If you are rotating, it's because you have something you want to see over there.

The new C should've gotten the travel. He had a wide open look.

I'm not really convinced the new C had a wide open look. It looks like there was a bobble at the start of the play which might have put enough doubt in the C's eyes to pass on calling that.

deecee Wed Mar 18, 2015 08:38am

Didn't really see a travel from the C's angle, or if there is one it's tough to see. and it wasn't major enough that I would lose sleep if I didn't call from the C or the T.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:19am

Even if the Lead is looking, he cannot see the ball through A1's back, so he wouldn't know if there was a bobble or not.

ODog Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:34pm

I'm very new to 3-man, so this is a legitimate question:

Regardless of the result of the play and what was/wasn't missed, that's a pretty casual rotation by the L, no? Just walking over there slowly with seemingly no conviction?

HokiePaul Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:39pm

I don't see the travel. Unless he didn't take a dribble. It looks like he did but I actually am not 100% based on the angle.

VaTerp Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:56pm

???
 
I'm not seeing a travel or anything really wrong with the L's rotation mechanics.

Rich Wed Mar 18, 2015 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 958082)
I don't see the travel. Unless he didn't take a dribble. It looks like he did but I actually am not 100% based on the angle.

I missed the dribble. Not a travel.

On another point: Had the post player taken it strong to the hoop, the L would've been in the middle of the lane. I'm not sure why the L wouldn't move more aggressively to get across.

crosscountry55 Wed Mar 18, 2015 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 958099)
I missed the dribble. Not a travel.

Well sugar. I missed it, too. Kaminsky completely screens our view. Gosh he's big.

In super slow-mo, the dribble ends while G10's feet are both still in contact with the floor (right toe is going up but still touching). Technically a travel? Yes. But now I can totally understand why it got passed on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1