![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Massachusetts D3 semifinals in Mass End of Regulation (Video)
As the behest of BayStateRef:
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
1. It appears current C may have missed the last rotation and is still at T.
2. Can't see contact from the camera angle. If I'm at that angle on the floor, I have nothing. 3. In slow mo, ball is resting on shooter's (actually tapper's) hands when backboard light goes off...no goal. 4. Coming together and discussing would be advisable...provided SOMEBODY on the crew has a definitive answer as to whether it should count.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
1. The official is not in the normal "home" position for a Center, but he actually may have a better angle to judge the contact on W10. I can't say that being a few feet higher here impacts the decisions.
2. I believe that W10 is fouled while an airborne shooter. The defender undercuts him. 3. The final putback is clearly late and should not have counted. The video can be paused with the ball still in his hands and the red lights on to prove this, but I thought late in real speed. Too bad for the team which lost. 4. If another crew member is 100%, then this info should be communicated to the calling official before they depart. If another official is the R and he disagrees with the C, he has the authority to overrule this particular decision. PS the crew did well to not call a foul in favor of the initial ball handler near the FT line. The defender was legal and the ball handler moved into him. |
|
|||
Is there video review / monitor available at the D-3 semis? If so, the last shot would / should be reviewed (but not changed).
for the rest, I agree with Nevada and Bad Zebra (except I think there's enough from the video to get a foul) |
|
|||
Quote:
In my opinion a rotation is not advisable as there is a shot from the FT line. He can't call a foul for Red putting his backside into W10 on the way down as he is straight-lined from this contact. There may be a slight touch on the left wrist as W10 gathers the rebound, but that's hard to tell and he should not come across the lane for something that isn't obvious and with such little time remaining. He may not even be able to judge the last shot as he has a great view of the release, but the red lights on the backboard may be too high for him to clearly observe from his endline position. Perhaps he can see the lights illuminate on the backboard at the far end of the court while looking at the shooter. I think that it's hard to find fault with the Lead for anything here. |
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, if you could review, yes you should, and in disagreement with Bob, why wouldn't you change it? The ball was clearly dead before release. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Mar 13, 2015 at 11:41am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Electrically speaking, a light, particularly if it is LED based, is faster to turn on than triggering the numbers on the clock. So, when the "0" signal is sent to the various clocks and the LED light, the LED light behind the board could appear before the clock shifts to 0.0....and it (the LED light) would be the accurate indicator. That is why it is the official indicator when present.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NC State -- Notre Dame end of regulation (Video) | JMUplayer | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 27, 2015 02:58am |
Video request: South Dakota at Creighton 21.8 left in regulation | biggravy | Basketball | 22 | Mon Dec 15, 2014 04:48pm |
Murphy's Law in Mass | amusedofficial | Basketball | 28 | Thu Mar 04, 2010 09:59am |
News out of Massachusetts | agr8zebra | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 03:54pm |