The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Winthrop vs. Coastal Carolina Officials' Error on FT? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99461-winthrop-vs-coastal-carolina-officials-error-ft-video.html)

crosscountry55 Sun Mar 08, 2015 01:31pm

Winthrop vs. Coastal Carolina Officials' Error on FT? (Video)
 
3/8/15: Winthrop vs. Coastal Carolina, 2:30 remaining 2nd half, ESPN2.

CC player goes to the line for a 1-and-1, only the L signals "2". The player misses the first. No one in the lane moves. Then there is a dramatic pause, and finally the C moves in for a discussion, realizing the crew probably messed up. Brief discussion, announcer says, "that was a 1-and-1; it should be Winthrop basketball." Usual ill-informed chatter.

I'm thinking since there was no team control when the error was discovered, the POI should be an AP throw-in. Winthrop had the arrow, but it appeared the officials awarded an ordinary throw-in because the arrow did not change after the throw-in.

Did the crew handle this correctly? Seems like they didn't. One mistake turned into two.

YooperRef Sun Mar 08, 2015 04:14pm

Case book play 8.6.1. Go to the arrow if either team is put at a disadvantage. NFHS rule set, not sure about NCAA-M.

just another ref Sun Mar 08, 2015 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperRef (Post 957299)
Case book play 8.6.1. Go to the arrow if either team is put at a disadvantage. NFHS rule set, not sure about NCAA-M.

The OP differs from this case play in that, if I understand correctly, nobody recovered the basketball.

Quote:

No one in the lane moves.

So this is not a case of one team being put at a disadvantage, but rather a ball being blown dead with no team control. But the bottom line is the same, AP throw-in.

YooperRef Sun Mar 08, 2015 04:47pm

Both teams put at a disadvantage?:)

Nevadaref Tue Mar 10, 2015 08:02am

Another crew that is fortunate to have been paid.
I find mistakes in the administration of game unacceptable. These aren't judgment calls. These are merely procedural methods which officals working at that level are required to know. If they can't put in the time to be properly prepared for their task, I am of the opinion that they shouldn't be doing it.

Raymond Tue Mar 10, 2015 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 957292)
3/8/15: Winthrop vs. Coastal Carolina, 2:30 remaining 2nd half, ESPN2.

CC player goes to the line for a 1-and-1, only the L signals "2". The player misses the first. No one in the lane moves. Then there is a dramatic pause, and finally the C moves in for a discussion, realizing the crew probably messed up. Brief discussion, announcer says, "that was a 1-and-1; it should be Winthrop basketball." Usual ill-informed chatter.

I'm thinking since there was no team control when the error was discovered, the POI should be an AP throw-in. Winthrop had the arrow, but it appeared the officials awarded an ordinary throw-in because the arrow did not change after the throw-in.

Did the crew handle this correctly? Seems like they didn't. One mistake turned into two.

It appears the announcers were not ill-informed. ;)

crosscountry55 Tue Mar 10, 2015 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 957454)
It appears the announcers were not ill-informed. ;)

The ends justify the means, eh? :D

bwburke94 Wed Mar 11, 2015 07:09pm

The question is, did the announcers check the arrow, or did they just assume it should be Winthrop's ball without checking?

crosscountry55 Wed Mar 11, 2015 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwburke94 (Post 957574)
The question is, did the announcers check the arrow, or did they just assume it should be Winthrop's ball without checking?

Pretty sure they just assumed it, but I can't say for sure. No mention of the arrow was made, the little section on the bottom right of the screen where "POSS: WINTHROP" was inscribed was never highlighted nor changed, and nothing was mentioned after the throw-in, either. You could tell they were confused and just assumed the officials handled it right.

The 0.17% of viewers who also happen to be basketball officials were probably the only ones who noticed something was amiss. ;)

Nevadaref Fri Mar 13, 2015 07:57am

Thanks for the video of this, but if you would extend the clip about five more seconds we could likely seethe possession arrow at the table as the ball is brought up the court.

APG Fri Mar 13, 2015 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 957669)
Thanks for the video of this, but if you would extend the clip about five more seconds we could likely seethe possession arrow at the table as the ball is brought up the court.

The table did not flip the arrow

KCRC Fri Mar 13, 2015 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 957669)
Thanks for the video of this, but if you would extend the clip about five more seconds we could likely seethe possession arrow at the table as the ball is brought up the court.

ESPN's graphic, below the clock, shows the Possession Arrow with Winthrop, who ends up getting the ball. I know the graphic isn't definitive evidence, but it's most likely accurate.

APG Fri Mar 13, 2015 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 957669)
Thanks for the video of this, but if you would extend the clip about five more seconds we could likely seethe possession arrow at the table as the ball is brought up the court.

Thank you for the additional information....went back and redid the clip:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/TdvhXDNxy5Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Nevadaref Fri Mar 13, 2015 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 957676)
Thank you for the additional information....went back and redid the clip:

I apologize if I'm being somewhat of a pain, but could you please give us yet another five seconds?
I was not aware that the player allowed the inbounds pass to roll untouched for a few seconds in the backcourt. The table crew correctly should not flip the arrow during this action and may just been a little late in changing it following the end of the throw-in. Having a few additional seconds may clear up this point for us.
Alternatively, you could just watch the last minutes of the game and report back to us whether the table crew ever changed the arrow. There was only a little over two minutes left in the game. They may have missed it for the rest of the contest and not noticed if there wasn't a held ball.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 13, 2015 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 957672)
ESPN's graphic, below the clock, shows the Possession Arrow with Winthrop, who ends up getting the ball. I know the graphic isn't definitive evidence, but it's most likely accurate.

No one is debating which team was awarded the ball. A couple of posters have stated that the arrow remained with Winthrop after the throw-in, so we are attempting to determine if the arrow was correctly used and switched or perhaps it was used and the table crew forgot to make the switch afterwards.

We are attempting to see if the crew has the arrow correctly set for the NEXT held ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1