![]() |
Violations
Several scenarios running through my head after taking in a high school game last night. Can't quite make these fit into my rationale. Reference from rules would help please.
A1 falls to floor after picking up dribble. (travel) A1 falls on top of B1 after picking up dribble. (not a travel until A1 touches the floor) A1 falls on top of B1 after picking up dribble and B1 is laying OOB. (not OOB until B1 touches the ball or A1 touches the floor) A1 falls on top of B1 after chasing a loose ball to the bench and B1 is sitting on the chair. (OOB because the chair is an object OOB) |
The last is not correct -- if A1 touches B1, it doesn't matter that B1 is in a chair. If A1 touches the chair, A1 is OOB.
You also need to consider a foul in any of the "falls on" scenarios (but I know you're focusing only on the travelling aspects) |
Quote:
There was not a foul on play 2 last night, but I understand about looking at the possibility of a foul. |
Quote:
* -- most of the time when I hear that phrase, it's followed by "you sexist pig." |
So, A1 chases the ball, leaps and catches it in the air, but lands A) on B1, who is lying entirely OOB, or B) lands on the team members sitting on the bench. A1 then passes the ball back to A2, who is inbounds. Rulings?
|
Quote:
|
Surely, a player sitting on a teammate who is sitting on the bench is out of bounds
Rule 7-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary
I suspect the intent of that rule is that a player who is near the sidelines is not out of bounds if they happen to touch someone who is out of bounds. But, I don't think it intends to say that a player who dives in the crowd and lands on the laps of the fans with the ball would still be considered in bounds. |
The Road To Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions ...
Quote:
|
There is a section in the front of the book called intent and purpose of the rules. (or something similar) A team shall not be permitted an advantage not intended by a rule. (or something similar) So, with that in mind, if A1 leaps to save a ball and lands in the laps of his teammates, after which he throws the ball back in to A2, yes, I will whistle the out of bounds violation.
|
Quote:
|
Thus, Big Bucks ...
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23pm. |