![]() |
NBA's 8-second rule? (Warriors/Celtics) (Video)
Late in the game, Curry had the ball poked away in the backcourt, chased it down and threw it to a teammate in the frontcourt....but the 8-second count clearly expired before it was touched by anyone (or touched the floor) in the frontcourt.
Is the NBA rule different? |
Under NBA rules, a ball not in player control is considered in the frontcourt when it has broken the plane of the midcourt line.
|
Quote:
Still not sure the ball had achieved that, but I also think it's pretty impossible to expect accuracy given that rule lol. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Here's the play for the more visually inclined. Note the magic number on the shot clock for an 8 second violation is 15:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Oyl9_mftT3I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Holy smokes that's close
|
NBA says correct non-call. Source.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm. |