The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Arizona/Utah: an announcer knows the rule! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99413-arizona-utah-announcer-knows-rule.html)

bballref3966 Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:28pm

Arizona/Utah: an announcer knows the rule!
 
43.8 left in game. PC called against Arizona. Fran Fraschilla: "Remember, you're allowed to move sideways or backwards once you're in legal guarding position."

Can we get this rare moment on video?

Also worth a look is the lengthy review on the OOB call at 35.7 left. They ended up giving the ball to Arizona.

bas2456 Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 956535)
43.8 left in game. PC called against Arizona. Fran Fraschilla: "Remember, you're allowed to move sideways or backwards once you're in legal guarding position."

Can we get this rare moment on video?

Also worth a look is the lengthy review on the OOB call at 35.7 left. They ended up giving the ball to Arizona.

Of course as soon as they know a rule, they prove completely oblivious to what the officials called on the floor 8 seconds later.

Raymond Sun Mar 01, 2015 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 956535)
43.8 left in game. PC called against Arizona. Fran Fraschilla: "Remember, you're allowed to move sideways or backwards once you're in legal guarding position."

Can we get this rare moment on video?

Also worth a look is the lengthy review on the OOB call at 35.7 left. They ended up giving the ball to Arizona.

We have one poster who thinks it is impossible to maintain LGP with any lateral movement.

La Rikardo Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:53pm

He was also aware of the 9-4.1 violation called on Utah at 11:55. Good call by Bob Staffen, glad the announcers were able to clarify the rule to the audience.

frezer11 Sun Mar 01, 2015 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 956540)
Of course as soon as they know a rule, they prove completely oblivious to what the officials called on the floor 8 seconds later.

Haha, I was thinking the exact same thing. They were ready to completely dismiss the call and figured it HAD to be an inadvertent whistle until the final replay. No clue why they were so convinced that the officials made some sort of "over the backboard" signal, I could tell he was pointing at the stanchion the entire time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1