The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Casebook play - pushing foul on rebounded while shot is in the air (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99402-casebook-play-pushing-foul-rebounded-while-shot-air.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Feb 28, 2015 12:52pm

Casebook play - pushing foul on rebounded while shot is in the air
 
Can anyone tell me if there's a casebook play addressing the following situation:

Player a one attempt to three-point shot. While the shot is in the air, B1 pushes 82 while jogging for rebounding position. As the try goes through the hoop, the official blows his whistle for the file on B1. Both teams are in the double bonus.

My partner who had made the call, got a little bit confused and couldn't explain to the coach. So I did. I told the coach that because we were in bonus, that the shot counted, and then the player who got pushed would be shooting two free throws for the double bonus. The coach believed that the other team should just be given the ball back from Outabounds throw in underneath the basket.

Can anyone site for me if there's a kids book play addressing this.?

SNIPERBBB Sat Feb 28, 2015 01:28pm

Can't have team control while a try/tap is in flight, any foul by a player,other than an airborne shooter, will be shot if a team is in bonus. Or no shots for a double foul.

Camron Rust Sat Feb 28, 2015 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956463)
Can anyone tell me if there's a casebook play addressing the following situation:

Player a one (A1) attempt to three-point shot. While the shot is in the air, B1 pushes 82 (A2) while jogging for rebounding position. As the try goes through the hoop, the official blows his whistle for the file (foul) on B1. Both teams are in the double bonus.

My partner who had made the call, got a little bit confused and couldn't explain to the coach. So I did. I told the coach that because we were in bonus, that the shot counted, and then the player who got pushed would be shooting two free throws for the double bonus. The coach believed that the other team should just be given the ball back from Outabounds throw in underneath the basket.

Can anyone site for me if there's a kids book play addressing this.?

Your speech-to-text took some liberties with some of the words ! ;) But, I'm pretty sure I figured it out.

You were certainly correct but in just a few moments of searching I have not found a specific case covering the play.

The only singular fouls for which we do not shoot FTs are team control and player control fouls. When the ball is in the air for a try neither team control nor player control exist. Therefor, it is not one of the foul types for which we do not shoot FTs. Head to the FT line.

BillyMac Sat Feb 28, 2015 02:00pm

Kids Book = Casebook ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956463)
Player a one

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 956468)
Your speech-to-text took some liberties with some of the words !

So that explains it. The text was actually distracting me from answering the question. At first I thought that "kids book" meant the Illustrated Rulebook.

Whistles & Stripes must have a new toy.

https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...0&pid=15.1&P=0

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Feb 28, 2015 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956469)
So that explains it. The text was actually distracting me from answering the question. At first I thought that "kids book" meant the Illustrated Rulebook.

Whistles & Stripes must have a new toy.

https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...0&pid=15.1&P=0

Yes, the speech to text definitely did me in. But I'm glad you guys figured it out. I know that we administered it correctly by shooting a free-throw's. I'm just headed down to referee some games where the same coach will be today, I was hoping to have the casebook played a showing. I'll do some digging in the book a little bit once I get there. I'm still driving right now.

Rob1968 Sat Feb 28, 2015 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956463)
Can anyone tell me if there's a casebook play addressing the following situation:

Player a one attempt to three-point shot. While the shot is in the air, B1 pushes 82 while jogging for rebounding position. As the try goes through the hoop, the official blows his whistle for the file on B1. Both teams are in the double bonus.

My partner who had made the call, got a little bit confused and couldn't explain to the coach. So I did. I told the coach that because we were in bonus, that the shot counted, and then the player who got pushed would be shooting two free throws for the double bonus. The coach believed that the other team should just be given the ball back from Outabounds throw in underneath the basket.

Can anyone site for me if there's a kids book play addressing this.?

I'm sure you meant ". . . B1 pushes A2 . . ."
The applicable rule is 4-12-6 . . . Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal." (italics added)
Case Book 4.12 COMMENT reiterates that statement.
The only Case Book play I found, that addresses a similar play is 10.6.1 SITUATION B. That SIT. addresses a violation and a foul while the ball is in flight during a shot attempt, and includes the bonus being in effect.

BillyMac Sat Feb 28, 2015 02:31pm

Be Safe ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956470)
I'm still driving right now.

https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6079...9&pid=15.1&P=0

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956470)
Yes, the speech to text definitely did me in. But I'm glad you guys figured it out. I know that we administered it correctly by shooting a free-throw's. I'm just headed down to referee some games where the same coach will be today, I was hoping to have the casebook played a showing. I'll do some digging in the book a little bit once I get there. I'm still driving right now.

Why did he think you shouldn't shoot free throws?

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956475)

Made it safely.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956477)
Why did he think you shouldn't shoot free throws?

He didn't have a particular reason. He just thought it should be the other team's ball for a throw-in. I explained the whole concept about how there was no team control, therefore, you shoot bonus if the foul count warrants it. He was just having a rough night. Or at least his team was. It happened to be his player's 4th foul, and he didn't sub the kid out. When his team got the ball back after the FTs, that same player attempted a shot at the other end of the floor, missed, and then went right through an opponent trying to get to the rebound and sent the opponent right to the floor. Yeah, that was number 5 on said player. Game over for him before halftime. He actually came out for the second half in street clothes to watch the remainder of the game.

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956478)
He didn't have a particular reason. He just thought it should be the other team's ball for a throw-in. I explained the whole concept about how there was no team control, therefore, you shoot bonus if the foul count warrants it. He was just having a rough night. Or at least his team was. It happened to be his player's 4th foul, and he didn't sub the kid out. When his team got the ball back after the FTs, that same player attempted a shot at the other end of the floor, missed, and then went right through an opponent trying to get to the rebound and sent the opponent right to the floor. Yeah, that was number 5 on said player. Game over for him before halftime. He actually came out for the second half in street clothes to watch the remainder of the game.

I would have just said, "Coach, we're in the bonus. I don't understand why you don't think we should be shooting. What am I missing?"

Put it on him to explain why you shouldn't be shooting.

BillyMac Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:30pm

The Odd Couple ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 956478)
... that was number 5 on said player. Game over for him before halftime. He actually came out for the second half in street clothes to watch the remainder of the game.

Odd, and odd again.

Player with four fouls, still in the game, in the first half (even three is pushing the envelope, especially early in the second period).

Player changing into street clothes, during halftime, because he was disqualified (I have, literally, never observed this, thirty-four years, and counting).

Was this game played in Bizarro World? It is certainly a different brand of basketball compared to what we play here in Connecticut.

https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...2&pid=15.1&P=0

just another ref Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956479)
I would have just said, "Coach, we're in the bonus. I don't understand why you don't think we should be shooting. What am I missing?"

Put it on him to explain why you shouldn't be shooting.


Some coaches just think that multiple bad things can't happen at once, especially not to their team. Earlier this year, BV, 3 point shot in the air, A1 shoves B1 underneath. Shot is good. A's ball. Coach B was incredulous. "No way do they get the basket and the ball!" This coach was significantly younger than I am, but certainly old enough to know better than this.

BillyMac Sat Feb 28, 2015 03:51pm

Join The Club ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 956481)
This coach was significantly younger than I am, but certainly old enough to know better than this.

In my world, all the coaches are significantly younger than me. Maybe that's why they don't often challenge me. They figure that the guy with the gray hair, who's been around the block several times, and who has attended a lot of rodeos, knows more about the rules than they do. Sometimes being old is good thing, not often, but sometimes. Am I right, Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 956481)
Some coaches just think that multiple bad things can't happen at once, especially not to their team. Earlier this year, BV, 3 point shot in the air, A1 shoves B1 underneath. Shot is good. A's ball. Coach B was incredulous. "No way do they get the basket and the ball!" This coach was significantly younger than I am, but certainly old enough to know better than this.

:)

"Coach, this isn't football, they don't have to decline the penalty to keep the score."

just another ref Sat Feb 28, 2015 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956486)
:)

"Coach, this isn't football, they don't have to decline the penalty to keep the score."

I find it disturbing when a "veteran" coach doesn't know a fundamental rule. A few years ago a GV coach who had been around a long time (she's since retired) assured me that on a throw-in the thrower could not jump up and return to the floor. I offered to bet her double or nothing on the game fee.

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 956490)
I find it disturbing when a "veteran" coach doesn't know a fundamental rule. A few years ago a GV coach who had been around a long time (she's since retired) assured me that on a throw-in the thrower could not jump up and return to the floor. I offered to bet her double or nothing on the game fee.

Watching the game before mine this year, and the visitors' varsity coach was sitting behind the bench commenting on the game. V had the ball in the FC and threw it into the BC, V1 followed the ball and waited (I really don't know why they do this) until the H player got close before touching it and getting the BC call. The officials started to put the ball in play at the spot of the violation (where it was touched) and the V coach kept chirping from behind the bench that it should be at half court.

just another ref Sat Feb 28, 2015 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956491)
Watching the game before mine this year, and the visitors' varsity coach was sitting behind the bench commenting on the game. V had the ball in the FC and threw it into the BC, V1 followed the ball and waited (I really don't know why they do this) until the H player got close before touching it and getting the BC call. The officials started to put the ball in play at the spot of the violation (where it was touched) and the V coach kept chirping from behind the bench that it should be at half court.


A lot of officials would back him up on that one.

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 956492)
A lot of officials would back him up on that one.

The guys on that game did. :(

We talked to them at half time.

BillyMac Sat Feb 28, 2015 06:34pm

Just Who's Teaching This Anyway ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956491)
V had the ball in the FC and threw it into the BC, V1 followed the ball and waited (I really don't know why they do this) until the H player got close before touching it and getting the BC call.

I know why they do this.

V1 thinks that he can immediately steal the ball as soon a H touches it, thus avoiding the backcourt violation and maintaining control of the ball.

I have never seen this work. In fifty years of basketball as a player, coach, fan , and official, I have never, ever, seen this work.

In a few cases I have seen H just grab the ball, and go in for a layup, with V1 having to foul H.

In most cases V1, after a second, or two, just decides that this maneuver just isn't going to work and touches the ball for the backcourt violation, moving the throwin a bit closer to the basket than if he had just touched it as soon as possible for the violation.

Nothing good ever comes from the maneuver. Never ever.

Adam Sat Feb 28, 2015 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956498)
I know why they do this.

V1 thinks that he can immediately steal the ball as soon a H touches it, thus avoiding the backcourt violation and maintaining control of the ball.

I have never seen this work. In fifty years of basketball as a player, coach, fan , and official, I have never, ever, seen this work. In a few cases I have seen H just grab the ball, and go in for a layup, with V1 having to foul H.

In most cases V1, after a second, or two, just decides that this maneuver just isn't going to work and touches the ball for the backcourt violation, moving the throwin a bit closer to the basket than if he had just touched it as soon as possible for the violation.

Nothing good ever comes from the maneuver. Never ever.

This would make sense if he waited til H actually touched it. I've never seen them wait that long. I always see them wait til the defense gets close, then the offense touches it first to prevent the fast break. You'd think if this was the thought process, at least one kid would try it.

just another ref Sat Feb 28, 2015 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956499)
This would make sense if he waited til H actually touched it. I've never seen them wait that long. I always see them wait til the defense gets close, then the offense touches it first to prevent the fast break. You'd think if this was the thought process, at least one kid would try it.

And when the defender gets close, they try to screen him away (why?) sometimes picking up a foul at this point.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:30am

Why ??? Because We Like You ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 956504)
And when the defender gets close, they try to screen him away (why?) sometimes picking up a foul at this point.

Good point. I still haven't figured out the screening aspect of this maneuver. With apologies to Winston Churchill, this entire strategy is a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma.

Kelvin green Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 956491)
Watching the game before mine this year, and the visitors' varsity coach was sitting behind the bench commenting on the game. V had the ball in the FC and threw it into the BC, V1 followed the ball and waited (I really don't know why they do this) until the H player got close before touching it and getting the BC call. The officials started to put the ball in play at the spot of the violation (where it was touched) and the V coach kept chirping from behind the bench that it should be at half court.

My response.

You're right coach, there are 30 arenas where that is the rule, but we're not in one of them.

This is a good reason to understand NCAA and NBA rules... The more we understand the other rule sets, the better perspective we might get.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1