![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() You were certainly correct but in just a few moments of searching I have not found a specific case covering the play. The only singular fouls for which we do not shoot FTs are team control and player control fouls. When the ball is in the air for a try neither team control nor player control exist. Therefor, it is not one of the foul types for which we do not shoot FTs. Head to the FT line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Kids Book = Casebook ???
Quote:
Whistles & Stripes must have a new toy.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 28, 2015 at 02:05pm. |
|
|||
Yes, the speech to text definitely did me in. But I'm glad you guys figured it out. I know that we administered it correctly by shooting a free-throw's. I'm just headed down to referee some games where the same coach will be today, I was hoping to have the casebook played a showing. I'll do some digging in the book a little bit once I get there. I'm still driving right now.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
Be Safe ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Made it safely.
He didn't have a particular reason. He just thought it should be the other team's ball for a throw-in. I explained the whole concept about how there was no team control, therefore, you shoot bonus if the foul count warrants it. He was just having a rough night. Or at least his team was. It happened to be his player's 4th foul, and he didn't sub the kid out. When his team got the ball back after the FTs, that same player attempted a shot at the other end of the floor, missed, and then went right through an opponent trying to get to the rebound and sent the opponent right to the floor. Yeah, that was number 5 on said player. Game over for him before halftime. He actually came out for the second half in street clothes to watch the remainder of the game.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
||||
Quote:
Put it on him to explain why you shouldn't be shooting.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Some coaches just think that multiple bad things can't happen at once, especially not to their team. Earlier this year, BV, 3 point shot in the air, A1 shoves B1 underneath. Shot is good. A's ball. Coach B was incredulous. "No way do they get the basket and the ball!" This coach was significantly younger than I am, but certainly old enough to know better than this.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
The Odd Couple ...
Quote:
Player with four fouls, still in the game, in the first half (even three is pushing the envelope, especially early in the second period). Player changing into street clothes, during halftime, because he was disqualified (I have, literally, never observed this, thirty-four years, and counting). Was this game played in Bizarro World? It is certainly a different brand of basketball compared to what we play here in Connecticut.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 28, 2015 at 03:55pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA 2009 Casebook Play Confusion | SergioJ | Softball | 14 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 05:09pm |
Difference in ruling on same casebook play? | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 24 | Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:03pm |
Lead call over the back foul(pushing) | buildere8 | Basketball | 23 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:33am |
Hit By Rebounded Pitch (Fed Only) | Blue37 | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 06, 2005 10:13am |
Pushing foul or traveling violation. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 32 | Thu Apr 04, 2002 05:38pm |