![]() |
Free Throw Restrictions ...
On a few occasions this season I have questioned one aspect of the new free throw rule, specifically how IAABO, especially how IAABO in Connecticut, has interpreted one aspect of this rule.
Quote:
Quote:
Play #2 - A-1 is attempting a free throw. After A-1 releases the ball, B-4, from a marked lane space, boxes out A-1 by stepping across the free throw line before the ball contacts the ring and making incidental contact with the shooter. The free throw is unsuccessful. The Center official rules a violation on B-4 and awards A-1 a substitute free throw. Was the official correct? Answer: The official was correct. The rule change this season allows players in marked lane spaces to enter the lane upon the release of the free throw. However, no player may penetrate the free throw line in either direction until the ball contacts the ring or backboard. (References: Rule 9.1.3g, NFHS Interpretation) So it appears that an IAABO state, other than Connecticut, has used this "interpretation". I decided to take a closer look at their citation 9-1-3-G: A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary ... 9-1-3-4 The restrictions in 9-1-3-B and C apply until the ball touches the ring or backcourt or until the free throw ends. 9-1-3-4 does not refer to 9-1-3-G, it only refers to 9-1-3-B and C. I could see how IAABO can call the free throw line "any lane boundary" but the restrictions ending don't match up with the citation (release versus hit). Why hasn't the NFHS chimed in on this? For reference purposes, here's 9.1.3.G (below) which doesn't have anything to do with the play described: 9.1.3 SITUATION G: As A1 starts the free-throwing motion, B1 hurriedly raises his/her arms. In the judgment of the official, the action of B1 disconcerts A1 and causes the attempt to miss the basket ring. RULING: As soon as the ball misses the ring, it becomes dead. Since free thrower A1 violated following disconcertion, a substitute free throw is awarded. (9-1-3a Penalty 4c) |
The provided citation is incorrect. It shouldn't say "NFHS Interpretation." That should read "IAABO Interpretation."
|
Activists ???
Quote:
Several years ago, IAABO moved away from NFHS mechanics and published their own IAABO mechanics manual. Will the same thing eventually happen with rules, and caseplays, an IAABO rulebook, and an IAABO casebook? Are Connecticut, and South Carolina, the only IAABO states (or parts of states) that follow this free throw restriction "interpretation"? |
Quote:
|
When the new rules come out, if the NFHS hasn't addressed this, I'll follow up with the mile high gurus.
|
Guests, Like Fish, Begin To Smell After Three Days (Benjamin Franklin) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Maniac (Michael Sembello, 1983) ...
Quote:
I'm not quite sure that "laboring" is the right term. It's just odd that many IAABO members are including restrictions in the new free throw rule that the rest of the country, using NFHS rules, and interpretations, aren't using. |
|
Now Even More Perplexed ...
Quote:
Check out Play #2 (below): http://district3hoops.com/rules/thisweek.php |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am. |