The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting situation during Resumption of Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99363-interesting-situation-during-resumption-play.html)

MechanicGuy Sat Feb 21, 2015 09:30pm

Interesting situation during Resumption of Play
 
1st round of a BV playoff game, very close game.

Early 4Q, following a timeout, it's visitors possession, and the visiting team is late/delaying breaking the huddle while the home team is ready to go. My partner blows the whistle and places the ball at their disposal (midcourt, oppo table). The V kids start to rush over, but someone in the stands yells to his school's team to "PICK IT UP! GO!"...

...and the home team does just that. They grab the ball and inbound it lol.

Partner blows it dead obviously, and just awards the ball to V, who is now over there and ready to go.

My question, after the game, should more have been done? My first thought was a Technical foul, similar to touching the ball when the the thrower is holding it. Then I thought maybe a delay would be more appropriate, similar to a scoring team grabbing a made basket.

Is there any rule/casebook situation to govern such a goofy play?

referee99 Sat Feb 21, 2015 09:33pm

Plane violation happened first.
 
A good way to proceed.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 955713)

Is there any rule/casebook situation to govern such a goofy play?

Yes -- there's a very similar case book play.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:36pm

Did a defender break the boundary plane during a throw-in?

Did a defender touch or dislodge the ball while it was in the thrower's hands outside of the boundary line?

After you have answered these two questions, you will know the proper call.

bballref3966 Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:57pm

7.5.1 Situation B

BillyMac Sun Feb 22, 2015 06:33am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 955733)
... there's a very similar case book play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 955741)
7.5.1 Situation B

7.5.1 SITUATION B: Team A does not break the huddle after the second horn
for a 60-second time-out. The official puts the ball down at the designated spot
and begins the five-second count. The administering official is between four and
five on the count when Team B reaches over the boundary and grabs the ball.
RULING: Delay-of-game warning on Team B for reaching across the plane. No
Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical
foul would not be assessed. (9-2 Penalty 3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1