![]() |
Concussion ???
|
Quote:
We did this for elbows above the shoulders and the message has been getting through. We can do this, too. Let's make the game safer. |
Let's taake a look at Case Book 10.3.6 SITUATION B
The subject has been addressed, and presently puts the onus on the covering official, IOW, it is presently a judgmnt call. How would one move towards less judgment, and more of a codification of the elements involved in such a play? |
Quote:
Just like the same reason that a ball that hits the foot is not always a kick, sometimes, a ball that hits <insert body part> is not intended to hit that body part. Swinging elbows is an act very much intended to clear space by threatening contact...and if they connect (and even if they don't) it must be dealt with. I've seen plays where someone is diving for a ball going OOB and slings it back behind them such that it hits someone in the face. They had no idea where it was going other than back towards the court. We're always going to need to apply judgement to these plays. |
Quote:
No way would I give a T for that. |
Quote:
This is also such a rare play anyway. I just did not like the way the officials decided this either. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If that is the case, I do understand the reaction. ;) |
Quote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sd2-dYXDZxs <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Sd2-dYXDZxs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I clearly understand now. ;) Peace |
Day Late, Dollar Short ...
Quote:
throw-in. B1 is putting great pressure on and the count is at four seconds when A1 throws the ball and it strikes B1’s face. The ball rebounds from B1’s face directly out of bounds. RULING: The administering official will have to make a decision based upon a number of observations. Was the throw-in to B1’s face purely accidental or was it a voluntary, planned act? Was the ball contact caused by the movement of the defender? Was the act of a an unsporting nature? The administering official must be aware that players often react negatively in situations where they are frustrated or are retaliating for something which happened earlier in the game. |
So you can whip a ball in midair at an opponents private parts and it is just an OOB, but if you hit him in the face it is a technical( if the rule is applied correctly)?
What's the difference. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm. |