![]() |
Bad Time for the Clock to Stop
This happened in my game tonight, High School Varsity Boys. Visitors make a basket to pull within 3 with time running out. They do not have any timeouts remaining. Ball goes through the basket home team takes the ball to inbound. I am the lead-becoming new trail. I start my count and I see 5.3 seconds on the clock. I get to 5 seconds the only problem is that the timer for some reason stopped the clock at 1.6! What do you do? I will wait for some responses before I share what our crew did.
|
Quote:
|
We've discussed this exact situation many times before on this forum. It is an obvious timing mistake which can be corrected by the referee through definite knowledge obtained by an official's count.
It isn't a convenient time for a timing error, but it should be handled just as if it occurred during the second quarter. |
Quote:
But I digress. OP had a five second violation, correct? If so, Nevadaref is spot-on. 5.3 - 5 = 0.3. If anything, officials tend to count a little slower than real time, so you can say with conservative confidence that at least five seconds ticked off. True, we talk about this kind of situation a lot. But it happens all the time, and there are a lot of opinions on how to handle it (many of them not in accordance with the rules, unfortunately). So it needs to be discussed often. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
5.10.1e
|
Quote:
|
Let's Go to The Videotape ...
Quote:
remaining in the fourth quarter. Team B then quickly scores with approximately five seconds remaining; now trailing by two points. Team A expects to withhold the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with the time remaining (less than five seconds). The timer mistakenly stops the clock shortly following the Team B goal; the game clock reads 4.0 seconds remaining. The official sounds the whistle, (a) immediately to address the timing mistake; (b) after reaching a throw-in count of three to address the timing mistake; or (c) upon reaching a fivesecond throw-in count on Team A. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A will have a throw-in from anywhere along the end line with (a) no change to the game clock; and (b) the game clock corrected to display 1.0 seconds. In (c), the game is over as time has expired. COMMENT: An official’s count may be used to correct a timing mistake. (5-10-2) |
Quote:
A good official's gonna look at the clock once the ball goes through. But if he sees it FREEZE at 8 seconds, should he wait a brief reasonable amount of time, say, 3 seconds, before starting his count? Then maybe when he gets to 4 blow the whistle to fix the clock? It just seems odd that if you fix it right away, you are putting one team at a major disadvantage, and, worst case scenario, rewarding possible shenanigans. I know the casebook says to ignore an intentional Delay of Game by a player who's just trying to get the clock stopped at the end of the game. Shouldn't we also then ignore a possible delay by the clock operator? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
ALL of the blame in such situations goes to the timer. |
Quote:
If he knows the timer stopped it before his whistle, then ok, fix it. Otherwise, like you said, no atomic clock in his head, the time may have continued to run until he blew his whistle. I.e., no error. |
Thank you for clarifying. Perhaps the OP will return and answer the questions you've posed.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38am. |