The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Enters From Below (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99357-ball-enters-below.html)

frezer11 Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:28am

Ball Enters From Below
 
When a ball inters the hoop from below, it is a violation. Tonight we had an airball, and both rebounders from each team tap the ball straight up at approximately the same time and the ball went up through the hoop from below. When there is no team control, still a violation? We went AP, but I never considered this one before, and I figure it's too obscure a situation to be in the casebook. Would you handle this the same, like a same time tap out of bounds?

APG Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:43am

Casebook play 9.4

frezer11 Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 955626)
Casebook play 9.4

Man, that was easy! Haha, feel free to delete this tread, didn't mean to clog the board.

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2015 01:18am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 955626)
Casebook play 9.4

9.4 SITUATION: At A’s basket, the ball enters the net from below and passes
through the basket: (a) The officials do not know whether a player of Team A or Team B was responsible; (b) the ball entered the basket after A1’s pass was
deflected by B1; or (c) A1 and B1 touched the ball simultaneously before it
entered the basket. RULING: The ball becomes dead when it enters from below
and passes through. In (a) and (c), a throw-in will follow by the team entitled to
it under the alternating-possession procedure. In (b), it is A’s ball for a throw-in,
as B1 caused the violation.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 21, 2015 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 955625)
When a ball inters the hoop from below, it is a violation.

It passed all the way through the net above the rim?

I've never had that. I have had the ball enter the basket from below, but not pass through.

crosscountry55 Sat Feb 21, 2015 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 955639)
It passed all the way through the net above the rim?

I've never had that. I have had the ball enter the basket from below, but not pass through.

Good question. It must enter and pass through. Does this mean the bottom of the ball breaks the plane of the cylinder, or does it mean the ball has to physically pass through and exit outside the rim?

I've never had this, either (seven years), nor have I seen it on TV. So according to Murphy, now that we're talking about it, it's going to happen in my game today. :D

bob jenkins Sat Feb 21, 2015 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 955640)
Good question. It must enter and pass through. Does this mean the bottom of the ball breaks the plane of the cylinder, or does it mean the ball has to physically pass through and exit outside the rim?

I've never had this, either (seven years), nor have I seen it on TV. So according to Murphy, now that we're talking about it, it's going to happen in my game today. :D

The "basket" is the ring plus the net. (It used to be an actual definition in the book; now I think you need to look at some different rules). To "pass through" means the ball can't be touching either.

THe ball does not need to go outside the cylinder.

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2015 08:36am

"De plane! De plane!" ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 955640)
Does this mean the bottom of the ball breaks the plane of the cylinder

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 955642)
The ball does not need to go outside the cylinder.

I believe that crosscountry55 is referring to the bottom of the upwardly moving ball breaking the horizontal plane defined by the basket ring.

A cylinder is one of the most basic curvilinear geometric shapes, the surface formed by the points at a fixed distance from a given line segment, the axis of the cylinder. The solid enclosed by this surface and by two planes perpendicular to the axis is also called a cylinder. (Wikipedia)

Nevadaref Sat Feb 21, 2015 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 955642)
The "basket" is the ring plus the net. (It used to be an actual definition in the book; now I think you need to look at some different rules). To "pass through" means the ball can't be touching either.

THe ball does not need to go outside the cylinder.

Still in there: 1-10-1

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2015 09:07am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 955647)
Still in there: 1-10-1

Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside
diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in
length, suspended from beneath the ring

frezer11 Sat Feb 21, 2015 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 955639)
It passed all the way through the net above the rim?

I've never had that. I have had the ball enter the basket from below, but not pass through.

It did, it was odd. It actually brought the net up with it, and without the net would have passed off to the side. As it was, the ball went up and through, sat on the edge of the rim for a moment, before the net basically pulled it back down and through

Adam Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 955651)
It did, it was odd. It actually brought the net up with it, and without the net would have passed off to the side. As it was, the ball went up and through, sat on the edge of the rim for a moment, before the net basically pulled it back down and through

So did it ever escape the net?

frezer11 Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 955662)
So did it ever escape the net?

It did not. Up, through, and to the left (from my POV) sat on the left side of the rim, then back down and through, all while "surrounded" by net.

frezer11 Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 955662)
So did it ever escape the net?

Reading through the definitions, it looks like we should've had nothing. Man hard to lay off of that one with the delay as it went through the cylinder, hung on, and fell back through. I'll get the next one right...

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:14pm

Just My Opinion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 955665)
... it looks like we should've had nothing. Man hard to lay off of that one with the delay as it went through the cylinder, hung on, and fell back through.

In my opinion, the net hangs below the basket ("a ... net ... suspended from beneath the ring"), then there's the ring itself, and then there's the imaginary cylinder above the ring, all the way to the ceiling. If the bottom of the ball, on its way up, gets above the horizontal plane of the ring, then I'm calling this violation, even if the ball is surrounded by an upside down net.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1