![]() |
WVU/Kansas Traveling (Video)
Can someone post clip. 14:47 1st half. WV player gathers ball while one knee is on the floor. He then stands up. Looks like an easy traveling call. Is the College rule different?
|
While we are at it, I would say the final play (WVU game-winner with 3 seconds left) is worth some discussion.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I hate that this isn't called. This one was especially egregious.
|
Quote:
1. Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or 2. Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or 3. Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his feet? RULING 1 and 2: Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor. 3: No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he may not roll over. When flat on his back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves. |
Quote:
(And there's no doubt the right foot was the pivot and was replanted.) |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I have seen them fall to the floor without having establish a pivot foot in the first place. |
Quote:
|
I would consider diving to the floor to get a loose ball be the same as falling to the floor without a pivot foot. So, I don't think falling to the floor without having established a pivot foot is a violation.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/H2iSZwZhQS0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
Travel...although the call would have been easier if I wasn't straight lined by the score of the game. :)
|
Quote:
In NCAAM you can touch the floor with knee etc...gain ball on floor and stand IF you keep a pivot foot. |
I don't know about this one. I thought the player started dribbling close enough to the lifting of the knee at first watch, but if you slow it down it's clearly a travel first. Don't think I would get this one right on the court.
|
Quote:
Example...player jumps for the ball, catches it in mid-air, lands on one foot followed by the other but is off balance. They fall to the floor such that the first foot down doesn't move. Certainly not common, but not really that improbable either. |
Quote:
I've seen a player have two feet down for an instant, no pivot foot ESTABLISHED yet, both feet then fly out in front of him, he goes down with ball. Jump stop play. He was leaning back when he landed on two feet. He never established pivot foot but it is travel under rules and case book plays. That is travel because although the right or left foot was never established as THE pivot..one of them was and it moved. (we talked about this some weeks ago in connection with player jumping in air before establishing pivot foot and then dribbling...there's a case play that talks about having a pivot foot even though you dont have it "established" yet--4.44.3B. |
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/J-XekD34HJw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
definitely travelled once. Might have travelled twice.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am. |