The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbounds or Out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99297-inbounds-out-bounds.html)

Oklahoma official Thu Feb 12, 2015 03:30pm

Inbounds or Out of bounds
 
What establishes inbounds status?

just another ref Thu Feb 12, 2015 03:33pm

Touching inbounds while not touching out of bounds. Both feet not necessary if that's what you're asking.

DrPete Thu Feb 12, 2015 03:53pm

Also a player still has inbounds status if he is in the air, having last touched the court in bounds, and not yet touched anything out of bounds yet.

Oklahoma official Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:04pm

inbounds or out of bounds
 
Thank you, that is what i was asking

Raymond Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oklahoma official (Post 954737)
What establishes inbounds status?

What's the context of your question?

Oklahoma official Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:26pm

Inbounds or Out of bounds
 
If a player comes from out of bounds and touches a ball inbounds, when does he/she establish inbounds status. Some people say both feet have to be on the floor before he can touch the ball, others say one foot. Can not find a clear reference in the book.

jTheUmp Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:33pm

There isn't a reference to 'one foot' or 'two feet' in the rule book... all that's required is that you have some part of your body in bounds (doesn't have to be a foot), and no part of your body out of bounds.

An airborne player has the same in bounds/out of bounds status as she had prior to going airborne. (phrased around here as "you are where you were until you get where you're going").

BigCat Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oklahoma official (Post 954753)
If a player comes from out of bounds and touches a ball inbounds, when does he/she establish inbounds status. Some people say both feet have to be on the floor before he can touch the ball, others say one foot. Can not find a clear reference in the book.

case book--4.35.2.

Adam Thu Feb 12, 2015 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oklahoma official (Post 954753)
If a player comes from out of bounds and touches a ball inbounds, when does he/she establish inbounds status. Some people say both feet have to be on the floor before he can touch the ball, others say one foot. Can not find a clear reference in the book.

Some people say lots of things. Book reference is in rule 4, under player location.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1