![]() |
Virginia-UNC
Some of you may be able to browse to the play (51.2 seconds 2nd half) here: Virginia vs. North Carolina.
It's never explained, but I swear this is what happens. Virginia player has inside position and tries to grab the rebound, but is contacted from behind by a UNC player. Instead of calling a foul Pat Driscoll gives the ball OOB to Virginia. As he is about to inbound Roy Williams asks him to go to the monitor. Pat knows that the ball was probably off the Virginia player, so he goes to Jamie Luckie and Michael Roberts and talks to them. Luckie appears to be the crew chief and tells Roy they are not going to the monitor. Driscoll talks to Roy a bit more, but they return to their spots and Virginia keeps the ball. Very strange sequence. |
I was watching this live last night. As it happened and I saw that they were under 2:00 I said, "Roy is going to ask them to go back to the monitor and they're going to have to give that back to UNC." I honestly thought that UVA had just gotten screwed. But then the crew somehow managed to weasel their way out of going to the monitor and though Roy didn't look happy about it at all, he seemed to accept the lines they were feeding him. I couldn't believe it. I told my reffing buddy whom I was watching the game with that there were going to be some memos flying around the next day.
Still kind of blows my mind. How do you get away with that? |
11-2-2
e. Violations. In the last two minutes of the second period and overtime(s), to determine the following: 1. Whether a shot clock violation occurred. 2. Which team caused the ball to go out of bounds when there is a deflection involving two or more players. |
I agree that there should have been a foul called on UNC. That was quite a long conference with Coach K, explaining their way out of it.
OOPS, I was so worried about being able to spell Krzyzewski correctly, that my mind was still in the Duke-UVA game from last Saturday...... I meant to say Coach Roy Williams...... Good catch by you guys, made me laugh at myself. |
Quote:
|
Pretty sure Coach K thought a foul should go against UNC:D
|
These plays show a glitch in the "get it right" sense of review -- where the review can only review one thing (last touch) and not another (foul), the review can make things worse. (I recall watching this in an NBA game -- replay showed both a clear foul and a last touch by the victim of the foul -- so the OOB call was reversed to the benefit of the player who committed the foul, as the OOB and not the foul was reviewable [at least at that time].)
|
Is this review mandatory in NCAAM? It's optional / voluntary in NCAAW.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Rule 11 Section 2. Instant Replay—Voluntary Use (Except Where Noted) e. Violations. In the last two minutes of the second period and overtime(s), to determine the following: 1. Whether a shot clock violation occurred. 2. Which team caused the ball to go out of bounds when there is a deflection involving two or more players. |
So I wonder, if the coach tried to force the review at this point, if the officials could have simply said, "Coach, we're ready to call a foul on your guy if we have to: your call."
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Yes, it is best to change the call on the spot but sometimes crews do get together when the clock is stopped to see who has the best look and adjudicate it properly. The coach understood and didn't say anything after that. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26am. |