The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   inbounding ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99204-inbounding-ball.html)

phansen Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:42pm

inbounding ball
 
NFHS

A1 steps out of bounds after a made basket to inbound the ball. Unexpected defender B1 has decided to contest the inbound pass between A1(out of bounds) and A2(inbounds). A1 loses her balance falling towards inbounds and the court playing surface. However, she uses the ball touching inbounds on the floor to regain her balance while her feet stayed completely out of bounds.
Is this a violation?
Rules Book or Case Book references appreciated

Bad Zebra Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:59pm

Rule 9-2-5 might be a good application here:
The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.

OR

Rule 9-2-2
The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.

Thinking out loud...would the throwers actions be considered a carry in this case? OR Does touching the ball in bounds while feet are out of bounds violate 9-2-2 meaning ball was not THROWN directly on court touching another player before going out of bounds untoched?

Pretty sure this is a violation either way. Anyone else care to weigh in?

bob jenkins Sat Jan 31, 2015 01:05pm

Agreed. I'd also use the case play where A1 reaches out and contacts (not a foul) B1

Nevadaref Sat Jan 31, 2015 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 953058)
Agreed. I'd also use the case play where A1 reaches out and contacts (not a foul) B1

Please don't. That is a terrible ruling in which the justification is absolutely wrong. (It says the thrower obtains inbounds status when touching B1. Not true.)
Stick with 9-2-5.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1